Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

overstreetryder 445

Service Information

F. Ryder Overstreet Jr.  

Service: Private

Cemetery:  Ft. Custer National Cemetery
Memorials: Kindred Hospice, 625 Kenmoor Ave. SE #115, Grand Rapids,  MI 49546

 

F. Ryder Overstreet, Jr., age 86, of Grand Rapids, MI passed away on Thursday, June 18, 2020 due to complications from COVID-19. He was born in New York, NY, on January 2, 1934, to Francis Ryder, Sr. and Mildred (Voorhis) Overstreet. Ryder proudly served in the US Army during the Korean War, stationed in Sault Ste. Marie. He was a graduate of Indiana University and went on to work for Campbell Soup Company for 37 1/2 years prior to retiring. With a love for hockey, Ryder was one of the founders of Grand Rapids Youth Hockey and served on the Michigan Hockey Board. His favorite event was the Indy 500, a longstanding family tradition, which he attended 68 times.  In retirement, Ryder and Julie enjoyed spending summers in Spring Lake, MI and their winters in Bonita Springs, Florida. He was preceded in death by his parents, as well as his brothers, Barry and Clark Overstreet.  Ryder will be lovingly remembered by his wife of 61 years, Julie; his son, Jeff (Lori) Overstreet, his daughter, Jill (Travis) Calvert; his grandchildren, Tyler and Justin Overstreet, Jessica Overstreet and Connor Calvert; great granddaughter, Simone Taylor; as well as his nieces and nephews. Due to COVID-19 restrictions, private family services will be held. Contributions in memory of Ryder may be made to Kindred Hospice, in appreciation for the wonderful care they provided.

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Comments  

# Matthew Coghlan 2020-06-30 00:44
With deepest sympathy Jessica, to you and all the Overstreet Family.
# Mark Joni Baragar 2020-06-28 16:02
Jeff,
Sorry to hear about your loss.Our prayers are with you.
# Maryalice Hartley 2020-06-27 19:11
I'm very sorry to hear about your Grandfather Jessica. I'm thinking of you and your family and I send my deepest sympathy.
# Scot Matkovich 2020-06-25 15:00
Very sorry to hear the news of Jessica's grandfather and Simone's great-grandfath er. My condolences to the entire family.
# Giacomo Ruotolo 2020-06-25 14:49
My deepest sympathy Jessica, to you and your family.
# Marialuisa Andreasso 2020-06-24 23:11
My deepest sympathy and condolences to the Overstreet family.
# Kathy Burge 2020-06-24 22:10
Julie, thank you for letting me know that Ryder passed away. I was so sorry to hear this sad news, especially that he died of COVID-19. Please extend my sympathy to Jeff and Jill and their families. My thoughts and prayers are with you.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Clara WeaverClara Weaver
Monday, June 8, 2020
Alison MillerAlison Miller
Friday, June 5, 2020
Herm DiederingHerm Diedering
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Donna WoltjerDonna Woltjer
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Carolyn HillCarolyn Hill
Monday, June 1, 2020
Richard Richard "Dick" Molter
Monday, June 1, 2020
Mary KimberMary Kimber
Saturday, May 30, 2020
Betty (Kramer) KuiphofBetty (Kramer) Kuiphof
Friday, May 29, 2020
Char EricksonChar Erickson
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Dot KalajainenDot Kalajainen
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Jean TroostJean Troost
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Delores BerginDelores Bergin
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Recent Memorials

Current Services

David HansenDavid Hansen
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Pauline HoolsemaPauline Hoolsema
Sunday, June 28, 2020
Richard CzapekRichard Czapek
Friday, June 26, 2020
Dennis GleasonDennis Gleason
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Michael BlackMichael Black
Monday, June 22, 2020
Shirley SpidellShirley Spidell
Saturday, June 20, 2020
F. Ryder Overstreet Jr. F. Ryder Overstreet Jr.
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Rita OppenhuizenRita Oppenhuizen
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Lorraine DickersonLorraine Dickerson
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Harm DiemerHarm Diemer
Monday, June 15, 2020
Rev. Roger FoustRev. Roger Foust
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wesley KraftWesley Kraft
Sunday, June 14, 2020
Judith StoneJudith Stone
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Joann MulderJoann Mulder
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Gene HeffnerGene Heffner
Sunday, June 7, 2020