Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

WhitcombAllen225

Service Information

Allen "Al" Jay Whitcomb 
Visitation:  Friday, May 1, from 11 am to 1 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: Held at a later date

Cemetery:  Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens
Memorials: Corinth Reformed Church, 129 - 100th St. SE Bryon Center, MI 49315 https://www.corinthreformed.org/ 

 Allen "Al" Jay Whitcomb, age 73, of Byron Center, passed away unexpectedly and was taken to be with his Lord and Savior on Monday, April 27, 2020. He lived his life serving God and it showed in the way he loved and cared for his family and friends. Al proudly served his country in the U.S. Army during the Vietnam War. He was preceded in death by his parents, Bud and Gertrude Whitcomb; and all of his aunts and uncles. He will be loved and sadly missed by his wife of 51 years, Marge; his children and grandchildren, Kathy and Rodger Shoemaker (Rachel and Nathan), Barb and Mike Steffes (Jay and Kate), Sue and Bill Oswald (Ashley (Aaron), Erika, Emily, Ethan, and Gabe); brothers, Larry and Lucy Whitcomb, Jack and Diane Whitcomb; sister, Shirley Saenz; several nieces, nephews, and wonderful friends. Due to the current health situation, a private family committal service will be held at Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens. A public memorial service celebrating Al's life will be held at a later date at Corinth Reformed Church. Anyone wishing to have a private moment and pay their respects to Al may visit Stroo Funeral Home on Friday, May 1, between the hours of 11:00 am and 1:00 pm. Given the restriction of no more than 10 people in the room, some members of the family may or may not be present during this time. Contributions in memory of Al may be made to Corinth Reformed Church.

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Comments  

# Brian Lackey 2020-05-04 19:45
Donna and I are both praying for you all through this very difficult time.

Love you all
Brian and Donna Lackey
# Vicki Berens 2020-05-01 13:23
Dan and I are praying for all of you as you lay this dear man to rest. We will miss seeing him every week at church.
Much love from Dan and Vicki Berens
# Jessica Krum 2020-04-30 19:23
Sue and Family,
You have all been in my prayers during this awful time and will continue to be in the days to come. I am so sorry for your loss.

Sending our love,
Jessica and Gabe Krum

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Milly RobisonMilly Robison
Sunday, July 19, 2020
Glenda SharpGlenda Sharp
Sunday, July 19, 2020
Douglas Yeakey Sr.Douglas Yeakey Sr.
Saturday, July 18, 2020
Kurt BurnsKurt Burns
Friday, July 17, 2020
Dorothy Van HarnDorothy Van Harn
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Tim SizeloveTim Sizelove
Tuesday, July 14, 2020
Joyce DeVriesJoyce DeVries
Monday, July 13, 2020
Steve HoffmanSteve Hoffman
Monday, July 13, 2020
Lois FredricksLois Fredricks
Monday, July 13, 2020
H. Joseph BluntH. Joseph Blunt
Monday, July 13, 2020
Henry SchutHenry Schut
Sunday, July 12, 2020
Patricia TenHopenPatricia TenHopen
Saturday, July 11, 2020
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Peter Quakkelaar Sr.Peter Quakkelaar Sr.
Sunday, August 9, 2020
Connie L. BurkeConnie L. Burke
Thursday, August 6, 2020
Jeffrey D. DykstraJeffrey D. Dykstra
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Robert L. RoelofsRobert L. Roelofs
Monday, August 3, 2020
Thomas LynchThomas Lynch
Sunday, August 2, 2020
Ann RowladerAnn Rowlader
Friday, July 31, 2020
Muriel TrompMuriel Tromp
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Nancy PenningNancy Penning
Tuesday, July 28, 2020
Elizabeth and Fred Sr. NastaliElizabeth and Fred Sr. Nastali
Monday, July 27, 2020
Sherry KenneySherry Kenney
Monday, July 27, 2020
Donald ChaseDonald Chase
Sunday, July 26, 2020
Michael WadeMichael Wade
Saturday, July 25, 2020
William VanSettenWilliam VanSetten
Friday, July 24, 2020
Julian HarrisonJulian Harrison
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Richard JohnstonRichard Johnston
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Dan AhrensDan Ahrens
Monday, July 20, 2020