Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

bongaroger crop

Service Information

Roger Henry Bonga 

  
Service: Private

Cemetery:  Woodlawn Cemetery
Memorials: The American Cancer Society, 129 Jefferson Ave. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503   https://www.cancer.org/  or The American Red Cross, 1050 Fuller Ave., N.E.Grand Rapids, MI 49503 https://www.redcross.org/donate/donation.html/



 

Roger H. Bonga, age 90, of Shelbyville, MI, went home to be with his Lord on Monday, April 20, 2020, after a lengthy illness. He was preceded in death by his son, David. Roger will be lovingly remembered by his wife, Dorothy; his children, Roger Jr. (Marie) Bonga, Pamela (William) Eland, Patricia (Keith) VanLiere, Jon Bonga; grandchildren, Paul (Stacey) Eland, Charles (Jennifer) Eland, Tegan (Jonathan) Lewis, Kendra (Jay) Morris, David II (Taylor) Bonga, Allison VanLiere, Keelin Bonga, Andrew (Grace) Weissenborn, Benjamin Weissenborn, Emily Weissenborn; and nine great-grandchildren. Due to current health concerns, a private family service and interment in Woodlawn Cemetery has taken place. In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions may be made to the American Cancer Society or the American Red Cross. 

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Comments  

# Jerry Van Solkema 2020-04-24 14:52
Dear Cousin Dorothy...
It is with sincere sympathy that I think of you today in the loss of your husband Roger.
I heard some years back that Roger was driving tour buses, taking people for trips to different places and still leading a positive life in his later years.
It goes without saying that I also remember going all the way back to when I was a kid that I remember the time when Roger, Jack, my brother and myself had so much fun driving around Zeeland in cars that both Roger and Jack had just purchased for themselves!
(Their First Cars) What fun we had!!!
Roger was always so positive about life and I will also remember his love for the Lord and the importance of that in his life.
May the Lord take care of you Dorothy and may God continue to bless you and your family at this sad time.
With Love,
Jerry and Wilma Van Solkema
Cell (616) 240-0114

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Gladys KuipersGladys Kuipers
Tuesday, May 12, 2020
David HastingsDavid Hastings
Monday, May 11, 2020
Lillian CheletteLillian Chelette
Monday, May 11, 2020
Bette CortezBette Cortez
Saturday, May 9, 2020
Albert SymonsAlbert Symons
Saturday, May 9, 2020
Kim Van SolkemaKim Van Solkema
Friday, May 8, 2020
Marvin LaLoneMarvin LaLone
Wednesday, May 6, 2020
Jerry TeWinkelJerry TeWinkel
Tuesday, May 5, 2020
Fred HirtFred Hirt
Monday, May 4, 2020
Sharon VanTilSharon VanTil
Monday, May 4, 2020
Donald MusicDonald Music
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Dick GumbertDick Gumbert
Sunday, May 3, 2020
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Betty (Kramer) KuiphofBetty (Kramer) Kuiphof
Friday, May 29, 2020
Char EricksonChar Erickson
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Jean TroostJean Troost
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Delores BerginDelores Bergin
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Esther Van VugtEsther Van Vugt
Monday, May 25, 2020
Scotty ConnollyScotty Connolly
Sunday, May 24, 2020
Neva DunlapNeva Dunlap
Saturday, May 23, 2020
Rev. Roger FoustRev. Roger Foust
Friday, May 22, 2020
Bernie JohnsonBernie Johnson
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Kelly DutcherKelly Dutcher
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Bruce DaleBruce Dale
Tuesday, May 19, 2020
Ruth TeuneRuth Teune
Sunday, May 17, 2020
Bernie WychersBernie Wychers
Sunday, May 17, 2020
Cal De GrootCal De Groot
Sunday, May 17, 2020
Lily SmitLily Smit
Friday, May 15, 2020
Verna HarkemaVerna Harkema
Tuesday, May 12, 2020