Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

deyoungjames525

Service Information

James Allen De Young 
Visitation:  Friday from 6 - 8 pm at Moline CRC, 4341 Chappel St. Moline
Service: 11 am Saturday, March 7, at Moline Christian Reformed Church, 4341 Chappel St. Moline

Cemetery: Dorr 
Memorials: Moline CRC Benevolence Fund, 4341 Chappel St., Moline, MI 49335

 

James Allen De Young, age 72, lost his battle with diabetes on Saturday, February 29, 2020. Jim's parents, Harry and Rolena De Young welcomed their firstborn son into the world on April 20, 1947. Jim spent his childhood in Moline, MI, attending Moline Christian School and graduating from South Christian High School. After high school, Jim joined the Army where he was trained as a medic. This training prepared Jim for his 45 year career at Blodgett Hospital in the patient service department. Jim was the De Young family historian and loved tracing out his family tree and searching for documents and pictures that went with it. Jim always loved attending family events and special occasions and documenting them with many pictures. Jim was also a great fan of President Lincoln and loved seeing any places or items associated with him. In his retirement, Jim spent his time visiting people, transporting his roommates to various places and spending time with his cat, Squirt. Jim is survived by his brothers and sisters, Gord (Eileen) De Young, Ron (Linda) De Young, Joyce (Doug) Bruursema, Marlene (Glen) Cutcher, Mel (Christy) De Young, Jackie (Keith) LeFebre; step-brothers and step-sisters, many nephews and nieces. He was preceded in death by his parents, Harry and Rolena De Young. The family will greet visitors on Friday, March 6, from 6 - 8 pm at Moline Christian Reformed Church (4341 Chappel St.) where the funeral service will take place on Saturday, March 7, at 11 am. Rev. Jim DeZeeuw will officiate. Interment will be in Dorr Cemetery. Memorial contributions may be made to the Moline CRC Benevolence Fund. 
 
STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Clara WeaverClara Weaver
Monday, June 8, 2020
Alison MillerAlison Miller
Friday, June 5, 2020
Herm DiederingHerm Diedering
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Donna WoltjerDonna Woltjer
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Carolyn HillCarolyn Hill
Monday, June 1, 2020
Richard Richard "Dick" Molter
Monday, June 1, 2020
Mary KimberMary Kimber
Saturday, May 30, 2020
Betty (Kramer) KuiphofBetty (Kramer) Kuiphof
Friday, May 29, 2020
Char EricksonChar Erickson
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Dot KalajainenDot Kalajainen
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Jean TroostJean Troost
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Delores BerginDelores Bergin
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Recent Memorials

Current Services

David HansenDavid Hansen
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Pauline HoolsemaPauline Hoolsema
Sunday, June 28, 2020
Richard CzapekRichard Czapek
Friday, June 26, 2020
Dennis GleasonDennis Gleason
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Michael BlackMichael Black
Monday, June 22, 2020
Shirley SpidellShirley Spidell
Saturday, June 20, 2020
F. Ryder Overstreet Jr. F. Ryder Overstreet Jr.
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Rita OppenhuizenRita Oppenhuizen
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Lorraine DickersonLorraine Dickerson
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Harm DiemerHarm Diemer
Monday, June 15, 2020
Rev. Roger FoustRev. Roger Foust
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wesley KraftWesley Kraft
Sunday, June 14, 2020
Judith StoneJudith Stone
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Joann MulderJoann Mulder
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Gene HeffnerGene Heffner
Sunday, June 7, 2020