Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

SpicaVonda512

Service Information

Vonda Lee Spica (Benham) 
Visitation:  Saturday, February 22, from 9 - 11 am at Our Lady of Sorrows Church followed by the service at 11 am
Service: 11 am Saturday, February 22, at Our Lady of Sorrows Catholic Church, 101 Hall St. SE

Cemetery: Resurrection  
Memorials: Clark Retirement Community, 1551 Franklin St. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49506 https://clarkretirement.org/

 

Vonda Lee Spica (Benham), age 87, of Kentwood, was called to her heavenly home on Wednesday, February 19, 2020. Vonda  worked at D'Amico's Food Market, Inc. where she met her husband, James, after he returned from the war. She loved to cook and entertain and was considered the best cook in the world to her children. She enjoyed going to the casino and was an avid Notre Dame football fan. Her husband, James, preceded her in death along with her great grandson, Austin Michael Bartz; parents, George and Ida Mae Benham; three brothers and six sisters. Vonda will be lovingly remembered by her children, Frederick (Laura) Spica, Katherine (Bruce) Bartz, James Jr. (Anne) Spica, Rose Spica; 10 grandchildren, 19 great-grandchildren; sister, Beverly Lohman; sisters-in-law, Marilyn Spica, Bonnie Spica; and several nieces and nephews. The family wishes to thank the staff of Clark at Keller Lake for the wonderful care they provided to Vonda. Visitation will be held on Saturday, February 22, from 9 - 11 am at Our Lady of Sorrows Catholic Church, 101 Hall St. SE, where the Mass of Christian Burial will begin at 11 am. Fr. Ted Kozlowski as celebrant. Interment will be in Resurrection Cemetery. In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions may be made to the Clark Retirement Community. 
STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Comments  

# Tom & Pat Graham 2020-02-21 13:37
Our sympathy to you on the loss of your dear, sweet mother. We were neighbors of your Mom & Dad. We always thought your mother was a wonderful lady & that she & your dad shared a special relationship. We're sure you have many memories of happy times you shared & the great food you enjoyed. Our thoughts & prayers are with you. May God bless you & somehow give you His peace & strength during this difficult time.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Lorraine WalbridgeLorraine Walbridge
Saturday, August 29, 2020
David Tubergen M.D.David Tubergen M.D.
Friday, August 28, 2020
Jack SpaakJack Spaak
Friday, August 28, 2020
Jesse ScottJesse Scott
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Timothy MiersmaTimothy Miersma
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Marlene BackhusMarlene Backhus
Monday, August 24, 2020
Henry NieuwenhuisHenry Nieuwenhuis
Sunday, August 23, 2020
Roberto MoralesRoberto Morales
Sunday, August 23, 2020
Terry ClausenTerry Clausen
Sunday, August 23, 2020
Frank YeagerFrank Yeager
Saturday, August 22, 2020
Dale BuntjerDale Buntjer
Monday, August 17, 2020
Barbara KapengaBarbara Kapenga
Sunday, August 16, 2020
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Wayne FloraWayne Flora
Friday, September 25, 2020
Roseann PetersonRoseann Peterson
Friday, September 25, 2020
William WicksallWilliam Wicksall
Tuesday, September 22, 2020
Donna WoltjerDonna Woltjer
Monday, September 21, 2020
Charlotte TerpsmaCharlotte Terpsma
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Kevin KlaassenKevin Klaassen
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Margaret TurnerMargaret Turner
Monday, September 14, 2020
Bobby OvereinerBobby Overeiner
Monday, September 14, 2020
Elizabeth WandreyElizabeth Wandrey
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Shelly AlmanShelly Alman
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Robert McClymontRobert McClymont
Monday, September 7, 2020
Janice PylmanJanice Pylman
Monday, September 7, 2020
Mary DykstraMary Dykstra
Sunday, September 6, 2020
Charlie MinorCharlie Minor
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Joan KeithJoan Keith
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Marvin BruursemaMarvin Bruursema
Tuesday, September 1, 2020