Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

VanDerWeidebenjamin547

Service Information

Benjamin VanDerWeide 

Visitation:  Saturday, February 8, from 12 pm - 1 pm at Stroo Funeral Home followed by the service at 1 pm


Service: 1 pm Saturday, February 8, at Stroo Funeral Home, 1095 68th St. SE



 

 
On Tuesday, February 4, 2020, Benjamin VanDerWeide Jr., age 84, of Byron Center, passed away surrounded by his family. Benjamin proudly served his country in the U.S. Navy, and worked for GM, retiring after 34 years of service. He was preceded in death by his parents, Benjamin Sr. and Minnie VanDerWeide; his son, Gilbert; sisters, Agnes, Gloria, Elaine; and brother, Paul.  He will be lovingly remembered by his wife of 29 years, Patricia; children, Lisa (Jeff) Fraser, Benjamin III (Lavonne) VanDerWeide, Tina (Bernie) Howard, Brenda Elerick, Leon (Nicole) Elerick, Seth (Lori) Elerick; grandchildren, Nicholas, Alex, Bryce, Sophia, Lauren, Hailey, Brittany, Heather, Gabrielle, Mitch (Angie), Michael (Destiny), Matthew (Kate), Brooke (Josh), Shelbie, Jett, Kayla, Micah, Aubry, Madison, Autumn, Kota; great grandchildren, Tyler, Erica, Makaylah, Vanessa, Danny, Greyson, Asa; great-great grandchildren, Ellie, Carter, Emma; sister and brother, Beatrice (Dave) Grotenhuis-Zylstra, and Dick (Judy) VanDerWeide. The family will greet visitors on Saturday, February 8, from 12 pm - 1 pm at Stroo Funeral Home, where the memorial service will begin at 1 pm. 
 
STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Comments  

# Karen Bolt 2020-02-07 13:24
Lisa and Ben,
You and your family have our sincere sympathy for your loss....
Take care,
Karen (Dikker) and Wes Bolt

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

David Tubergen M.D.David Tubergen M.D.
Friday, August 28, 2020
Jesse ScottJesse Scott
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Timothy MiersmaTimothy Miersma
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Marlene BackhusMarlene Backhus
Monday, August 24, 2020
Henry NieuwenhuisHenry Nieuwenhuis
Sunday, August 23, 2020
Roberto MoralesRoberto Morales
Sunday, August 23, 2020
Terry ClausenTerry Clausen
Sunday, August 23, 2020
Frank YeagerFrank Yeager
Saturday, August 22, 2020
Dale BuntjerDale Buntjer
Monday, August 17, 2020
Barbara KapengaBarbara Kapenga
Sunday, August 16, 2020
Ruth MonsmaRuth Monsma
Saturday, August 15, 2020
Donald KnightDonald Knight
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Donna WoltjerDonna Woltjer
Monday, September 21, 2020
Charlotte TerpsmaCharlotte Terpsma
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Kevin KlaassenKevin Klaassen
Tuesday, September 15, 2020
Margaret TurnerMargaret Turner
Monday, September 14, 2020
Bobby OvereinerBobby Overeiner
Monday, September 14, 2020
Elizabeth WandreyElizabeth Wandrey
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Shelly AlmanShelly Alman
Tuesday, September 8, 2020
Robert McClymontRobert McClymont
Monday, September 7, 2020
Janice PylmanJanice Pylman
Monday, September 7, 2020
Mary DykstraMary Dykstra
Sunday, September 6, 2020
Charlie MinorCharlie Minor
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Joan KeithJoan Keith
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Marvin BruursemaMarvin Bruursema
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Barbara DeVriesBarbara DeVries
Monday, August 31, 2020
Terrance HaanTerrance Haan
Saturday, August 29, 2020
Lorraine WalbridgeLorraine Walbridge
Saturday, August 29, 2020