Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

sterkJ presspic5

Service Information

Joe Sterk
Visitation:  Monday from 5 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home and Tuesday, prior to the service, from 10 - 10:45 am at Dutton United Reformed Church
Service: 11 am Tuesday, January 21, at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake SE

Cemetery:  Blain Cemetery
Memorials: Covenant United Reformed Church58 100th St SW, Byron Center, MI 49315 or Zion Christian School, 7555 Byron Center Ave SW, Byron Center, MI 49315

Joe Sterk, aged 91, of Grand Rapids, was called to his heavenly home on Wednesday, January 15, 2020. Joe was a painter and enjoyed working with several of his family members. He was an active member of the Gideons and also enjoyed his antique cars. Joe was preceded in death by his wife of 69 years, Alice, his siblings, John (Marian) Sterk, Ann (Al) Root, Sam Sterk, Gerrit (Fran) Sterk, and Henry Sterk.  He will be lovingly remembered by his children, David (Lois) Sterk, Kathleen (Dennis) Mishoe, Paul Sterk; grandchildren, Kimberly (Ben) DeVries, Brenda Sterk, D.J. (Jessi) Sterk, Bradley (Stephanie) Sterk, Daniel (Jennifer) Sterk, Holly (Travis) Weber, Lori Newman; 14 great grandchildren; brothers and sisters, Bill (Reet) Sterk, Shirley (Jim) Schipper, Ken (Joyce) Sterk, Betty (Bob) DeJong, Jeanette Visser; sister-in-law, Donna Sterk; many nieces and nephews. The family will greet visitors on Monday, January 20, from 5 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home, and Tuesday, January 21, from 10 - 10:45 am at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake SE, where the funeral service will begin at 11 am with his pastor, Rev. Greg Lubbers, officiating. Interment will be in Blain Cemetery. Memorial contributions may be made to Covenant U.R.C. or Zion Christian School. 

 

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Clara WeaverClara Weaver
Monday, June 8, 2020
Alison MillerAlison Miller
Friday, June 5, 2020
Herm DiederingHerm Diedering
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Donna WoltjerDonna Woltjer
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Carolyn HillCarolyn Hill
Monday, June 1, 2020
Richard Richard "Dick" Molter
Monday, June 1, 2020
Mary KimberMary Kimber
Saturday, May 30, 2020
Betty (Kramer) KuiphofBetty (Kramer) Kuiphof
Friday, May 29, 2020
Char EricksonChar Erickson
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Dot KalajainenDot Kalajainen
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Jean TroostJean Troost
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Delores BerginDelores Bergin
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Recent Memorials

Current Services

David HansenDavid Hansen
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Pauline HoolsemaPauline Hoolsema
Sunday, June 28, 2020
Richard CzapekRichard Czapek
Friday, June 26, 2020
Dennis GleasonDennis Gleason
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Michael BlackMichael Black
Monday, June 22, 2020
Shirley SpidellShirley Spidell
Saturday, June 20, 2020
F. Ryder Overstreet Jr. F. Ryder Overstreet Jr.
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Rita OppenhuizenRita Oppenhuizen
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Lorraine DickersonLorraine Dickerson
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Harm DiemerHarm Diemer
Monday, June 15, 2020
Rev. Roger FoustRev. Roger Foust
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wesley KraftWesley Kraft
Sunday, June 14, 2020
Judith StoneJudith Stone
Thursday, June 11, 2020
Joann MulderJoann Mulder
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Gene HeffnerGene Heffner
Sunday, June 7, 2020