Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

SpidellLeon

Service Information

Leon G. Spidell 
Visitation: Tuesday, Sept. 3, from 5 to 7 pm at Stroo Funeral Home 
Service: 7:00 pm Tuesday, September 3, 2019 at Stroo Funeral Home

Cemetery:  Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens
Memorials: Down Syndrome Association of West Michigan, 233 E. Fulton St. #124, Grand Rapids, MI 49503 or Spectrum Health Hospice, 100 Michigan Ave., NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49502 

Leon G. Spidell, aged 90, of Grand Rapids, passed away on Wednesday, August 28, 2019. Leon served in the U.S. Air Force during the Korean War. He loved woodworking, fishing, hunting, being outdoors, bingo, and playing cards. His wife of 64 years, Mary; and son, Craig Spidell, preceded him in death. He was a loving father, grandfather, and great grandfather who will be deeply missed by his children, Jeffrey (Barbara) Spidell, Susan (Michael) Shive; grandchildren, Bradley Spidell, Alex Spidell, Nicole (Jacob) Meyerink, Daniel (Kaitlin) Shive; great grandchildren, Jonathan, Madelyn, Kennedy; brother, Carl (Shirley) Spidell; sister-in-law, Elizabeth Hyde; and many nieces and nephews. The family will greet visitors on Tuesday, September 3, from 5 to 7 pm at Stroo Funeral Home, with the funeral service following at 7:00 pm. Entombment in Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens. The family wishes to thank the staff of Spectrum Health Hospice and Health Care Associates at Sentinel Pointe for the loving care they provided to Leon. Contributions in memory of Leon may be made to Down Syndrome Association of West, MI. or Spectrum Health Hospice. 

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Janice AndersonJanice Anderson
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Jim MacDonaldJim MacDonald
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Hiroko (Betty) GeelhoedHiroko (Betty) Geelhoed
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Wayne VanderWalWayne VanderWal
Monday, September 30, 2019
Kathleen CookKathleen Cook
Sunday, September 29, 2019
Jerrel De KokJerrel De Kok
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Ron CammengaRon Cammenga
Sunday, September 22, 2019
Gloria MelinnGloria Melinn
Sunday, September 22, 2019
Nell OlthouseNell Olthouse
Saturday, September 21, 2019
William ScottWilliam Scott
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Ronald YoungRonald Young
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Marianne Vanden TopMarianne Vanden Top
Monday, September 9, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Arlene WilesArlene Wiles
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Marcella StoepkerMarcella Stoepker
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Sandra WatkinsSandra Watkins
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Rev. Larry JohnsonRev. Larry Johnson
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Mary Jane CasterMary Jane Caster
Sunday, October 13, 2019
Beth HarveyBeth Harvey
Saturday, October 12, 2019
Jim SmithJim Smith
Friday, October 11, 2019
Anthony SaboAnthony Sabo
Friday, October 11, 2019
Ruth StoutenRuth Stouten
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Randy YntemaRandy Yntema
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Bill OppenneerBill Oppenneer
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Norma MinkusNorma Minkus
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Jennie HoekstraJennie Hoekstra
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Richard SmithRichard Smith
Friday, October 4, 2019
Rita CiluffoRita Ciluffo
Friday, October 4, 2019
Carol PostCarol Post
Friday, October 4, 2019