Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

Carrel john 335

Service Information

John W. Carrel 
Visitation:  Friday from 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: 11 am Saturday, July 20, at Stroo Funeral Home, 1095 68th St. SE

Cemetery:  Garfield Park Cemetery
Memorials: The Gideons International Processing Center
P.O. Box 97251, 
Washington, DC 20090-7251https://www.gideons.org/donate


 John W. Carrel, age 88, of Wyoming, went to be with his Lord on Tuesday, July 16, 2019. John proudly served in the Air Force during the Korean War.  He retired from the City of Grand Rapids and was a member of the Gideons for over 35 years. He taught Sunday School for many years and was also known by many as Coach Carrel. John will be lovingly remembered by his wife, Patricia Carrel; his children, Rev. James (Caryn) Carrel, Dr. Daniel (Bonny) Carrel, John David Carrel, Tim Carrel; step-daughter, Laura Hulst; 16 grandchildren; 16 great grandchildren; and brother-in-law, John Manoogian.  He was preceded in death by his wife, Geraldine; his sister, Rosie Bloem and brother-in-law, Harry Bloem. The family will greet visitors on Friday, July 19, from 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home, where the funeral service will be held at 11 am on Saturday, July 20, with Rev. James Carrel officiating. Interment will be in Garfield Park Cemetery. Memorial contributions in memory of John may be made to Gideons International. 

 

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Comments  

# Thomas DeHaan 2019-07-18 23:00
To all the Carrel family. John lived with my family for several years and was more like a brother to me, Carolyn and Fred. I remember as a little boy looking up to John as I went to all his basketball and softball games. He certainly loved sports. Now that he’s no longer with us, I still have fond memories that will always be with me. I will make a donation to the Gideons in John's name as I know that’s his favorite charity.
# Ron Hofstra 2019-07-18 16:34
Hi Carrell family. Our Pinery Park family was something special and your family played a big part of it. I'll be out of town so I'll miss the chance to see you. You'll be in my thoughts and prayers..
# Tom & Pam Hooker 2019-07-17 21:23
We will truly miss the great man of God. Carrel family, we will miss the visitation and funeral as we are with the group in Word of Life but know you are all in our prayers for comfort. God Bless.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Hayes Cargill Jr.Hayes Cargill Jr.
Sunday, January 12, 2020
Donna VanLaanDonna VanLaan
Sunday, January 12, 2020
Tammi FitzpatrickTammi Fitzpatrick
Friday, January 10, 2020
Dorothy ApolDorothy Apol
Friday, January 10, 2020
Richard SwansonRichard Swanson
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Alex DanigelisAlex Danigelis
Wednesday, January 8, 2020
Ann MeyersAnn Meyers
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Laurie Jansma-MillerLaurie Jansma-Miller
Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Gertrude LakeGertrude Lake
Sunday, January 5, 2020
Russell BrinksRussell Brinks
Saturday, January 4, 2020
Donna BerkompasDonna Berkompas
Tuesday, December 31, 2019
Ronald BrinkRonald Brink
Wednesday, December 25, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Betty WinkleBetty Winkle
Sunday, January 26, 2020
Jane GumbertJane Gumbert
Sunday, January 26, 2020
Jim AndrieJim Andrie
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Angeline MeulendykAngeline Meulendyk
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Senetta DykstraSenetta Dykstra
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Larry DykgraafLarry Dykgraaf
Monday, January 20, 2020
Elmer NeumegElmer Neumeg
Monday, January 20, 2020
Robert DeckerRobert Decker
Sunday, January 19, 2020
Thomas JongertThomas Jongert
Sunday, January 19, 2020
Lawrence LapekesLawrence Lapekes
Saturday, January 18, 2020
Kimberly BruinKimberly Bruin
Friday, January 17, 2020
Fran KinneFran Kinne
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Joe SterkJoe Sterk
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Charles HodgeCharles Hodge
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Stanley ThurberStanley Thurber
Monday, January 13, 2020
Adriana OphoffAdriana Ophoff
Monday, January 13, 2020