Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

Post Gerrit356

Service Information

Gerrit M. Post 
Visitation:  Thursday, July 18, from 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: 10 am Friday, July 19, at Moline CRC, 4341 Chappell St., Moline

Cemetery:  Hooker Cemetery
Memorials: Moline Love, c/o Moline CRC, 4341 Chappell St. Moline, MI 49335

 Gerrit M. Post, age 94, of Grand Rapids, went to be with his Lord and Savior on Sunday, July 14, 2019. He was preceded in death by his wife, Marjory; grandson, Michael Ross Wiers; brothers and sister, Henry (Ann) Post, Margaret (Warren) Engbers, John (Marge) Post, Richard (Joanne) Post; and brother-in-law, John Linton. Gerrit was a faithful husband, a wonderful father, grandfather and great grandfather, a follower of Jesus Christ, and a great example of kindness and generosity to all who knew him. He was well known as the informal "Mayor of Green Lake" where he ran a marine business for many years, as well as for his lifelong hobby of restoring Model A Fords. He will be deeply missed by his children, Gary (Jeanne) Post, Ross (Mary) Post, Rose (Doug) Wiers, Richard (Sharon) Post; grandchildren, Michael Post, Andrea Post, Joel (Ashley) Post, Rachel (James) Fenton, Nathan (Dawn) Post, Emily (Mark) Brieve, Kelly (Jason) Knoll, Dan (Jess) Wiers, Lindsey Post, Kendra (Zack) Strang, Marissa (Cody) Brown, Luke Post; 21 great grandchildren; brother and sister, Bill (Florence) Post, Adrianna (Ed) Ophoff; brother-in-law and sister-in-law, Richard (Jan) Doezema, Donna Blocker; many nieces and nephews. The family will greet visitors on Thursday, July 18, from 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home. The funeral service will be held at 10 am Friday, July 19, at Moline Christian Reformed Church, 4341 Chappell St., with Pastor Gary Post officiating. Interment will be in Hooker Cemetery.  The family wishes to thank the staff at Holland Home for the wonderful care they provided. Memorial contributions may be made to Moline Love, care of Moline CRC. 

 

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Janice AndersonJanice Anderson
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Jim MacDonaldJim MacDonald
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Hiroko (Betty) GeelhoedHiroko (Betty) Geelhoed
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Wayne VanderWalWayne VanderWal
Monday, September 30, 2019
Kathleen CookKathleen Cook
Sunday, September 29, 2019
Jerrel De KokJerrel De Kok
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Ron CammengaRon Cammenga
Sunday, September 22, 2019
Gloria MelinnGloria Melinn
Sunday, September 22, 2019
Nell OlthouseNell Olthouse
Saturday, September 21, 2019
William ScottWilliam Scott
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Ronald YoungRonald Young
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Marianne Vanden TopMarianne Vanden Top
Monday, September 9, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Marcella StoepkerMarcella Stoepker
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Sandra WatkinsSandra Watkins
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Rev. Larry JohnsonRev. Larry Johnson
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Mary Jane CasterMary Jane Caster
Sunday, October 13, 2019
Beth HarveyBeth Harvey
Saturday, October 12, 2019
Jim SmithJim Smith
Friday, October 11, 2019
Anthony SaboAnthony Sabo
Friday, October 11, 2019
Ruth StoutenRuth Stouten
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Randy YntemaRandy Yntema
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Bill OppenneerBill Oppenneer
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Norma MinkusNorma Minkus
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Jennie HoekstraJennie Hoekstra
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Richard SmithRichard Smith
Friday, October 4, 2019
Rita CiluffoRita Ciluffo
Friday, October 4, 2019
Carol PostCarol Post
Friday, October 4, 2019
Til HonderdTil Honderd
Thursday, October 3, 2019