Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

Post Gerrit356

Service Information

Gerrit M. Post 
Visitation:  Thursday, July 18, from 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: 10 am Friday, July 19, at Moline CRC, 4341 Chappell St., Moline

Cemetery:  Hooker Cemetery
Memorials: Moline Love, c/o Moline CRC, 4341 Chappell St. Moline, MI 49335

 Gerrit M. Post, age 94, of Grand Rapids, went to be with his Lord and Savior on Sunday, July 14, 2019. He was preceded in death by his wife, Marjory; grandson, Michael Ross Wiers; brothers and sister, Henry (Ann) Post, Margaret (Warren) Engbers, John (Marge) Post, Richard (Joanne) Post; and brother-in-law, John Linton. Gerrit was a faithful husband, a wonderful father, grandfather and great grandfather, a follower of Jesus Christ, and a great example of kindness and generosity to all who knew him. He was well known as the informal "Mayor of Green Lake" where he ran a marine business for many years, as well as for his lifelong hobby of restoring Model A Fords. He will be deeply missed by his children, Gary (Jeanne) Post, Ross (Mary) Post, Rose (Doug) Wiers, Richard (Sharon) Post; grandchildren, Michael Post, Andrea Post, Joel (Ashley) Post, Rachel (James) Fenton, Nathan (Dawn) Post, Emily (Mark) Brieve, Kelly (Jason) Knoll, Dan (Jess) Wiers, Lindsey Post, Kendra (Zack) Strang, Marissa (Cody) Brown, Luke Post; 21 great grandchildren; brother and sister, Bill (Florence) Post, Adrianna (Ed) Ophoff; brother-in-law and sister-in-law, Richard (Jan) Doezema, Donna Blocker; many nieces and nephews. The family will greet visitors on Thursday, July 18, from 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home. The funeral service will be held at 10 am Friday, July 19, at Moline Christian Reformed Church, 4341 Chappell St., with Pastor Gary Post officiating. Interment will be in Hooker Cemetery.  The family wishes to thank the staff at Holland Home for the wonderful care they provided. Memorial contributions may be made to Moline Love, care of Moline CRC. 

 

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Gregory EnsinkGregory Ensink
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Rebecca Ver HoefRebecca Ver Hoef
Sunday, March 15, 2020
Dale Crysler Sr.Dale Crysler Sr.
Sunday, March 15, 2020
Richard SabourinRichard Sabourin
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Nancy SprikNancy Sprik
Saturday, March 7, 2020
Lorraine PylmanLorraine Pylman
Friday, March 6, 2020
Carol Curtis - UPDATECarol Curtis - UPDATE
Friday, March 6, 2020
Gerald J. OlejiczakGerald J. Olejiczak
Thursday, March 5, 2020
Frances DavisFrances Davis
Wednesday, March 4, 2020
Calvin StruckCalvin Struck
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Gerry MasterkaGerry Masterka
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Cindy VanderWoudeCindy VanderWoude
Monday, March 2, 2020
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Vera DeVries (Cooper)Vera DeVries (Cooper)
Friday, April 3, 2020
Dee TeSlaaDee TeSlaa
Wednesday, April 1, 2020
Judy BissellJudy Bissell
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Dale WiersDale Wiers
Tuesday, March 31, 2020
William DocterWilliam Docter
Sunday, March 29, 2020
Lynn FlanneryLynn Flannery
Friday, March 27, 2020
Sharon WestraSharon Westra
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
June VoetbergJune Voetberg
Wednesday, March 25, 2020
John Vanden ToornJohn Vanden Toorn
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Arlene ArmstrongArlene Armstrong
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Robin OsbornRobin Osborn
Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Charlotte TerpsmaCharlotte Terpsma
Saturday, March 21, 2020
Marge GoldeMarge Golde
Saturday, March 21, 2020
Jerome SmithJerome Smith
Friday, March 20, 2020
Gladys HolmesGladys Holmes
Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Margot SaladinoMargot Saladino
Wednesday, March 18, 2020