Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

HarmsBarb3557

Service Information

Barbara (Viersen) Harms 
Visitation: Friday, May 3, from 10 - 11 am at Cutlerville East CRC, 501 68th St. SE  prior to the service
Service: 11 am Friday, May 3 at Cutlerville East CRC, 501 68th St. SE

Cemetery:  Blain 
Memorials: to Sunset Manor, 725 Baldwin, Jenison, MI 49428

 

Barbara Harms (nee Baukje Viersen), age 95, died on Friday, April 26, 2019 at Sunset Manor in Jenison. She was the daughter of the late Jacob and Grace (nee Grietje Dijkstra) Vierzen and was the widow of Hendrik K. Harms. The Harms family immigrated from the Netherlands in late 1958 and lived in Grand Rapids, then Cutlerville, and for the last 10 years she lived in Jenison. She struggled with progressive memory loss for years but remained happy and cheerful until her ability to remember and speak were gone. She is survived by her sons, Herman and Sylvia Harms, and Dick and Joan Harms; her grandchildren, Angelique and Matt Walter (Jared and Jenna); Ingrid and Scott Johnson (Mikayla and Annika); Rick and Lisa Harms (Russell and Storm Harms, Caleb, Steven, and Naomi), Chris Harms and Kate Harms. In addition to her parents and husband, Barbara was preceded in death by her son, Jacob; daughter, Grace; great grandson, Alex; all her siblings, Tina, Janke, Ike, and Dirk; and her nieces, Jackie and Jenny. The family thanks the many dedicated staff members of Sunset Manor who provided her care and suggests memorial gifts be sent there. The memorial service will be held at 11 am Friday, May 3, at Cutlerville East Christian Reformed Church, 501 68th St. SE, with visitation one hour prior to the service at the church. Rev. Ed Visser will officiate. Interment will be in Blain Cemetery. 

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Gerald LucasGerald Lucas
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Hunter AmesHunter Ames
Monday, November 4, 2019
Kyle KingmaKyle Kingma
Sunday, November 3, 2019
Maryruth CorstangeMaryruth Corstange
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Rev. Bill RenkemaRev. Bill Renkema
Monday, October 28, 2019
Dan PfenningDan Pfenning
Monday, October 28, 2019
Tom RidderbosTom Ridderbos
Monday, October 28, 2019
Duane DoorDuane Door
Friday, October 25, 2019
Carl DenHoutenCarl DenHouten
Friday, October 25, 2019
Arlene WilesArlene Wiles
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Carolyn SizeloveCarolyn Sizelove
Monday, October 21, 2019
Marcella StoepkerMarcella Stoepker
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Ethel VeenstraEthel Veenstra
Monday, November 18, 2019
Tanya WaskiewiczTanya Waskiewicz
Sunday, November 17, 2019
Bill FitzsimmonsBill Fitzsimmons
Saturday, November 16, 2019
James O'HaganJames O'Hagan
Friday, November 15, 2019
Sally BullisSally Bullis
Friday, November 15, 2019
John HylkemaJohn Hylkema
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Doris EggerdingDoris Eggerding
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Fredrick LucasFredrick Lucas
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Lucy SmithLucy Smith
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Antonina RussoAntonina Russo
Sunday, November 10, 2019
Geraldine SchuhmanGeraldine Schuhman
Sunday, November 10, 2019
Mark GantMark Gant
Saturday, November 9, 2019
Marie BosinMarie Bosin
Friday, November 8, 2019
Arthur VanDerWeideArthur VanDerWeide
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Vonda EssenburgVonda Essenburg
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Adriana KommerAdriana Kommer
Wednesday, November 6, 2019