Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

van singelHarris335

Service Information

Harris M. Van Singel
Visitation: Monday, April 8, from 5 - 8 at Stroo Funeral Home and Tuesday from 10 - 10:45 am at Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center 
Service: 11 am Tuesday, April 9, at Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center, 7588 Byron Center Avenue SW

Cemetery:  Winchester


 On Wednesday, April 3, 2019, Harris M. Van Singel, age 96, of Dorr, MI, formerly of Byron Center, went home to be with his Lord. Harris proudly served in the Air Force during World War II as a top gunner on a B-29 Bomber. He was preceded in death by a son, James Van Singel; brothers, Willard Van Singel, Robert Van Singel; and step-sisters, Jeanette Elzinga and Glady Alles. He will be lovingly remembered by his wife of 74 years, Connie (Vander Werf); his children, Larry (Juanita Schierbeek) Van Singel, Ronald (Fayth Alles) Van Singel, and Sue (Bruce) Walcott; grandchildren, Monica (Keith) Van Wienen, Jeff (Amber) Van Singel, Brandon (Mindy) Van Singel, Ronald (Erika) Van Singel II, Wynnelle (Steve) Witte, Amanda (Dan) Pluger, Stacey (Jimmy) VandenBerg, Jason Walcott; 22 great grandchildren; brother, Gordon Van Singel; brother-in-law, Roger Zeeff; several nieces and nephews. Harris and Connie are charter members of Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center (7588 Byron Center Ave. SW), where the funeral service will be held 11 am Tuesday, April 9, with Pastor Adam Nordyke officiating. Interment will be in Winchester Cemetery. The family will greet relatives and friends on Monday from 5 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home, and on Tuesday from 10 - 10:45 am prior to the service at church.

 Stroo Funeral Home
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Martina HeyboerMartina Heyboer
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Leon SpidellLeon Spidell
Wednesday, August 28, 2019
Bruce WierengaBruce Wierenga
Monday, August 26, 2019
LaVay KimmerLaVay Kimmer
Monday, August 26, 2019
Curtis JohnsonCurtis Johnson
Saturday, August 24, 2019
Bonnie KurnatBonnie Kurnat
Friday, August 23, 2019
Arnold StevensArnold Stevens
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Theola WyrickTheola Wyrick
Tuesday, August 20, 2019
Sena HelmsSena Helms
Sunday, August 18, 2019
Jacqueline VollinkJacqueline Vollink
Saturday, August 17, 2019
Marilyn HoekemaMarilyn Hoekema
Saturday, August 17, 2019
Marianne HelmholdtMarianne Helmholdt
Saturday, August 17, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

James HoezeeJames Hoezee
Thursday, September 19, 2019
William ScottWilliam Scott
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Ronald YoungRonald Young
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Marianne Vanden TopMarianne Vanden Top
Monday, September 9, 2019
Bruce VanderLaanBruce VanderLaan
Monday, September 9, 2019
Gary RothGary Roth
Monday, September 9, 2019
Helen ZoodsmaHelen Zoodsma
Friday, September 6, 2019
Ken CarlsonKen Carlson
Friday, September 6, 2019
Irma WychersIrma Wychers
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Henry HoevenaarHenry Hoevenaar
Tuesday, September 3, 2019
Robert BeukemaRobert Beukema
Monday, September 2, 2019
Ruth RidderbosRuth Ridderbos
Sunday, September 1, 2019
Cornelia BasketCornelia Basket
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Ronald VriesengaRonald Vriesenga
Saturday, August 31, 2019
Don Van Der WeeleDon Van Der Weele
Saturday, August 31, 2019