Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

van singelHarris335

Service Information

Harris M. Van Singel
Visitation: Monday, April 8, from 5 - 8 at Stroo Funeral Home and Tuesday from 10 - 10:45 am at Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center 
Service: 11 am Tuesday, April 9, at Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center, 7588 Byron Center Avenue SW

Cemetery:  Winchester


 On Wednesday, April 3, 2019, Harris M. Van Singel, age 96, of Dorr, MI, formerly of Byron Center, went home to be with his Lord. Harris proudly served in the Air Force during World War II as a top gunner on a B-29 Bomber. He was preceded in death by a son, James Van Singel; brothers, Willard Van Singel, Robert Van Singel; and step-sisters, Jeanette Elzinga and Glady Alles. He will be lovingly remembered by his wife of 74 years, Connie (Vander Werf); his children, Larry (Juanita Schierbeek) Van Singel, Ronald (Fayth Alles) Van Singel, and Sue (Bruce) Walcott; grandchildren, Monica (Keith) Van Wienen, Jeff (Amber) Van Singel, Brandon (Mindy) Van Singel, Ronald (Erika) Van Singel II, Wynnelle (Steve) Witte, Amanda (Dan) Pluger, Stacey (Jimmy) VandenBerg, Jason Walcott; 22 great grandchildren; brother, Gordon Van Singel; brother-in-law, Roger Zeeff; several nieces and nephews. Harris and Connie are charter members of Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center (7588 Byron Center Ave. SW), where the funeral service will be held 11 am Tuesday, April 9, with Pastor Adam Nordyke officiating. Interment will be in Winchester Cemetery. The family will greet relatives and friends on Monday from 5 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home, and on Tuesday from 10 - 10:45 am prior to the service at church.

 Stroo Funeral Home
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Duane DoorDuane Door
Friday, October 25, 2019
Carl DenHoutenCarl DenHouten
Friday, October 25, 2019
Arlene WilesArlene Wiles
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Carolyn SizeloveCarolyn Sizelove
Monday, October 21, 2019
Marcella StoepkerMarcella Stoepker
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Sandra WatkinsSandra Watkins
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Rev. Larry JohnsonRev. Larry Johnson
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Mary Jane CasterMary Jane Caster
Sunday, October 13, 2019
Beth HarveyBeth Harvey
Saturday, October 12, 2019
Jim SmithJim Smith
Friday, October 11, 2019
Anthony SaboAnthony Sabo
Friday, October 11, 2019
Ruth StoutenRuth Stouten
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Doris EggerdingDoris Eggerding
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Fredrick LucasFredrick Lucas
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Lucy SmithLucy Smith
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Antonina RussoAntonina Russo
Sunday, November 10, 2019
Geraldine SchuhmanGeraldine Schuhman
Sunday, November 10, 2019
Mark GantMark Gant
Saturday, November 9, 2019
Marie BosinMarie Bosin
Friday, November 8, 2019
Arthur VanDerWeideArthur VanDerWeide
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Vonda EssenburgVonda Essenburg
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Adriana KommerAdriana Kommer
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Gerald LucasGerald Lucas
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Hunter AmesHunter Ames
Monday, November 4, 2019
Kyle KingmaKyle Kingma
Sunday, November 3, 2019
Maryruth CorstangeMaryruth Corstange
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Rev. Bill RenkemaRev. Bill Renkema
Monday, October 28, 2019
Dan PfenningDan Pfenning
Monday, October 28, 2019