Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

van singelHarris335

Service Information

Harris M. Van Singel
Visitation: Monday, April 8, from 5 - 8 at Stroo Funeral Home and Tuesday from 10 - 10:45 am at Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center 
Service: 11 am Tuesday, April 9, at Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center, 7588 Byron Center Avenue SW

Cemetery:  Winchester


 On Wednesday, April 3, 2019, Harris M. Van Singel, age 96, of Dorr, MI, formerly of Byron Center, went home to be with his Lord. Harris proudly served in the Air Force during World War II as a top gunner on a B-29 Bomber. He was preceded in death by a son, James Van Singel; brothers, Willard Van Singel, Robert Van Singel; and step-sisters, Jeanette Elzinga and Glady Alles. He will be lovingly remembered by his wife of 74 years, Connie (Vander Werf); his children, Larry (Juanita Schierbeek) Van Singel, Ronald (Fayth Alles) Van Singel, and Sue (Bruce) Walcott; grandchildren, Monica (Keith) Van Wienen, Jeff (Amber) Van Singel, Brandon (Mindy) Van Singel, Ronald (Erika) Van Singel II, Wynnelle (Steve) Witte, Amanda (Dan) Pluger, Stacey (Jimmy) VandenBerg, Jason Walcott; 22 great grandchildren; brother, Gordon Van Singel; brother-in-law, Roger Zeeff; several nieces and nephews. Harris and Connie are charter members of Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center (7588 Byron Center Ave. SW), where the funeral service will be held 11 am Tuesday, April 9, with Pastor Adam Nordyke officiating. Interment will be in Winchester Cemetery. The family will greet relatives and friends on Monday from 5 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home, and on Tuesday from 10 - 10:45 am prior to the service at church.

 Stroo Funeral Home
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Ginger SredersasGinger Sredersas
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Olivia IngleOlivia Ingle
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Louise EvansLouise Evans
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Geraldine KoetjeGeraldine Koetje
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Paul StormPaul Storm
Monday, June 17, 2019
Trena BattjesTrena Battjes
Saturday, June 15, 2019
Ruth MontoyaRuth Montoya
Friday, June 14, 2019
Roger Van HarnRoger Van Harn
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Beverly MillerBeverly Miller
Saturday, June 8, 2019
Johanna (Hulst) BorstJohanna (Hulst) Borst
Friday, June 7, 2019
Bill HarringtonBill Harrington
Friday, June 7, 2019
Darrell Darrell "Smoky" Schmuker
Friday, June 7, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Trudy KammingaTrudy Kamminga
Friday, July 19, 2019
Ruth HempenRuth Hempen
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Gerald PerrinGerald Perrin
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Donald VickersDonald Vickers
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
John CarrelJohn Carrel
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Gerrit PostGerrit Post
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Steve JannerethSteve Jannereth
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Howard SytsmaHoward Sytsma
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Michael LapekesMichael Lapekes
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Aldert PostmaAldert Postma
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Ronal BellRonal Bell
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Marcia KustoMarcia Kusto
Saturday, July 6, 2019
James HuismanJames Huisman
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Amanda DeGroot-AdgateAmanda DeGroot-Adgate
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Lilliana TatoreLilliana Tatore
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Janet JongertJanet Jongert
Friday, June 28, 2019