Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

van singelHarris335

Service Information

Harris M. Van Singel
Visitation: Monday, April 8, from 5 - 8 at Stroo Funeral Home and Tuesday from 10 - 10:45 am at Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center 
Service: 11 am Tuesday, April 9, at Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center, 7588 Byron Center Avenue SW

Cemetery:  Winchester


 On Wednesday, April 3, 2019, Harris M. Van Singel, age 96, of Dorr, MI, formerly of Byron Center, went home to be with his Lord. Harris proudly served in the Air Force during World War II as a top gunner on a B-29 Bomber. He was preceded in death by a son, James Van Singel; brothers, Willard Van Singel, Robert Van Singel; and step-sisters, Jeanette Elzinga and Glady Alles. He will be lovingly remembered by his wife of 74 years, Connie (Vander Werf); his children, Larry (Juanita Schierbeek) Van Singel, Ronald (Fayth Alles) Van Singel, and Sue (Bruce) Walcott; grandchildren, Monica (Keith) Van Wienen, Jeff (Amber) Van Singel, Brandon (Mindy) Van Singel, Ronald (Erika) Van Singel II, Wynnelle (Steve) Witte, Amanda (Dan) Pluger, Stacey (Jimmy) VandenBerg, Jason Walcott; 22 great grandchildren; brother, Gordon Van Singel; brother-in-law, Roger Zeeff; several nieces and nephews. Harris and Connie are charter members of Second Christian Reformed Church of Byron Center (7588 Byron Center Ave. SW), where the funeral service will be held 11 am Tuesday, April 9, with Pastor Adam Nordyke officiating. Interment will be in Winchester Cemetery. The family will greet relatives and friends on Monday from 5 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home, and on Tuesday from 10 - 10:45 am prior to the service at church.

 Stroo Funeral Home
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Senetta DykstraSenetta Dykstra
Tuesday, January 21, 2020
Larry DykgraafLarry Dykgraaf
Monday, January 20, 2020
Elmer NeumegElmer Neumeg
Monday, January 20, 2020
Robert DeckerRobert Decker
Sunday, January 19, 2020
Thomas JongertThomas Jongert
Sunday, January 19, 2020
Lawrence LapekesLawrence Lapekes
Saturday, January 18, 2020
Kimberly BruinKimberly Bruin
Friday, January 17, 2020
Fran KinneFran Kinne
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Joe SterkJoe Sterk
Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Charles HodgeCharles Hodge
Tuesday, January 14, 2020
Stanley ThurberStanley Thurber
Monday, January 13, 2020
Adriana OphoffAdriana Ophoff
Monday, January 13, 2020
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Karen ClarkKaren Clark
Saturday, February 15, 2020
Arlene VanOpstallArlene VanOpstall
Saturday, February 15, 2020
Ronald HouseRonald House
Saturday, February 15, 2020
Arlyn BoorsmaArlyn Boorsma
Tuesday, February 11, 2020
Howard Horton Sr.Howard Horton Sr.
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Charles QuistCharles Quist
Saturday, February 8, 2020
Benjamin VanDerWeideBenjamin VanDerWeide
Tuesday, February 4, 2020
Sandra EdingSandra Eding
Monday, February 3, 2020
Phyllis UpperPhyllis Upper
Sunday, February 2, 2020
Evelyn Holst-BorstEvelyn Holst-Borst
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Betty WinkleBetty Winkle
Sunday, January 26, 2020
Jane GumbertJane Gumbert
Sunday, January 26, 2020
Jim AndrieJim Andrie
Saturday, January 25, 2020
Angeline MeulendykAngeline Meulendyk
Saturday, January 25, 2020