Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

DeVosGerald3214

Service Information

Gerald Ronald De Vos 
Visitation: Wednesday, March 6 from 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home and Thursday, March 7 from 12 - 12:45 at the church  
Service: 1 pm, Thursday, March 7, at Cutlerville East CRC, 501 68th St. SE

Cemetery: Dutton Cemetery
Memorials:  Turning Point, P.O. Box 3838, San Diego, CA 92163  https://www.davidjeremiah.org/donate/pure-gift or Community Recovery, 2340 Dean Lake Ave. NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49505 http://www.commrecoverycc.org/dean-lake.html

                                                      

On Sunday, March 3, 2019, Gerald R. DeVos, age 87, of Dutton, left this earthly life and went home to be with his Lord, surrounded by loving family. A Cutlerville businessman for 47 years, Gerald was very active in the community. He served as a member of the Cutlerville Fire Department, the Byron Township Board and was instrumental in beginning the annual Cutlerville Day community celebration. He and his wife were charter members of Cutlerville East Christian Reformed Church where he served as an elder. A man who showed his faith by word and action, he will be deeply missed by his family, wife of almost 70 years, Evelyn; three daughters, Linda (Gene) Lamers of Jamestown; Laurie Beute of Cutlerville, Ann (Bruce) Mingerink of Wayland; grand-children, Kevin Lamers, Hollie (Chris) Heiser, Eric Lamers, Lisa (Mark) Bonnema, Randy (Jill) Beute, Heidi (Phil) Lobbezoo, Brian (Bree) Mingerink, Brent (Jenn) Mingerink, Amy (Ross) Velting; 18 great grandchildren, who affectionately called him "Papa D"; a great-great granddaughter; brother, Harold "Bud" (Char) DeVos; sisters-in-law, Nancy De Vos and Karen De Vos; several nieces and nephews. He was preceded in death by his parents, Peter and Martha De Vos; an infant sister, Mary Ellen; and brothers, Floyd O. and Peter A. De Vos. The family will greet visitors on Wednesday, March 6 from 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home, and on Thursday, March 7 from 12 - 12:45 pm prior to the service at church. The funeral service will be held at 1 pm Thursday at Cutlerville East CRC, 501 68th St. SE, with Pastor Lew Vander Meer officiating. Interment will be in Dutton Cemetery. Contributions in Gerald's memory may be made to Turning Point or Community Recovery. The family expresses special thanks to the staff at Faith Hospice - Trillium Woods for their loving care.

 
                                               Stroo Funeral Home, Inc.
                                                  1095 68th Street SE
                                               Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Nancy DrummondNancy Drummond
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Mary MeyerinkMary Meyerink
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Grace AlbertsGrace Alberts
Monday, February 25, 2019
Roy SeyffertRoy Seyffert
Sunday, February 24, 2019
Cody ZwiersCody Zwiers
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Jessie PlatschoreJessie Platschore
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Ella Jean MannElla Jean Mann
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Rev. Warren BurgessRev. Warren Burgess
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Junior BrockJunior Brock
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Matt KoningMatt Koning
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Marvin HonderdMarvin Honderd
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Billy BoggsBilly Boggs
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

June RaynesJune Raynes
Monday, March 18, 2019
Wilma GunninkWilma Gunnink
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Paul BenninkPaul Bennink
Saturday, March 16, 2019
David RosartDavid Rosart
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Geraldine VaderGeraldine Vader
Friday, March 15, 2019
Lucille WierengaLucille Wierenga
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Dino PezzatoDino Pezzato
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Donna SymonsDonna Symons
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
John W. PostJohn W. Post
Monday, March 11, 2019
Margaret RebMargaret Reb
Friday, March 8, 2019
Jed GerkenJed Gerken
Friday, March 8, 2019
Carolyn OlingerCarolyn Olinger
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Gerald De VosGerald De Vos
Sunday, March 3, 2019
David RothDavid Roth
Saturday, March 2, 2019
Jacqueline WestersJacqueline Westers
Saturday, March 2, 2019
Ruth DiederingRuth Diedering
Wednesday, February 27, 2019