Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

honderedmarvin333

Service Information

Marvin Honderd 
 Memorial Service: Held at a later date
Cemetery:  Winchester Cemetery
Memorials: South Christian High School, 7979 Kalamazoo Ave. SE, Byron Center, MI 49315 
https://www.schs.org/giving/

Honderd, Marvin, age 90, passed away on Saturday, February 16, 2019 at Faith Hospice Trillium Woods. He was preceded in death by his wife, Esther (Fryling); and daughter, Beth. Marv is survived by his children, Marcia (Ken) Speyer, Julie Honderd and Tom Honderd; his grandchildren, Becky (Brent) Overmire, Tim (Andrea) Speyer and Matt Speyer; and his great-grandchildren, Halle and Delaney Overmire and Sophia, Rory and Dillon Speyer. Also surviving are his brother, Roger (Til) Honderd, and sisters, Marilyn Deemter, Ilah Van Wieren and Carol Honderd. He worked many years alongside his wife at their family business, Honderd Jewelers. He was an USAF veteran serving in the Korean War as a Fighter Pilot where he flew over 70 missions.  A private memorial service will be held this summer by the family. In honor of Marvin, memorial contributions may be given to the South Christian High School.  

 

 

                                   STROO FUNERAL HOME
                                        1095 68TH ST. SE
                                  GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508 

Comments  

# Elaine Snyder Frost 2019-02-28 22:31
I received a call while I was in Tucson and felt so very sorry I missed saying good bye. I see you will be having a service this summer, hoping to greet you all then. I was delighted that he came to the Depot Open House the Historical Society put on at Whistlestop Park. I'll always treasure the big hug and picture I had with him there. We shared many memories over the years. Was looking forward to a visit at the museum so I could show him the renovated Military Room showcasing his uniforms and military information.
# Cheryl Cammenga 2019-02-26 17:22
I am so sorry to hear about your father's passing, Julie. Thank you for your earlier condolences on my father's death as well. It is the passing of a generation. Your dad sounds like he was a wonderful man.
# Kate Harms 2019-02-19 13:16
My deepest sympathies to the whole family. Marv was a wonderful man, and I was so privileged to work for him. The whole family will be in my prayers.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Ginger SredersasGinger Sredersas
Wednesday, June 26, 2019
Olivia IngleOlivia Ingle
Sunday, June 23, 2019
Louise EvansLouise Evans
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Geraldine KoetjeGeraldine Koetje
Saturday, June 22, 2019
Paul StormPaul Storm
Monday, June 17, 2019
Trena BattjesTrena Battjes
Saturday, June 15, 2019
Ruth MontoyaRuth Montoya
Friday, June 14, 2019
Roger Van HarnRoger Van Harn
Thursday, June 13, 2019
Beverly MillerBeverly Miller
Saturday, June 8, 2019
Johanna (Hulst) BorstJohanna (Hulst) Borst
Friday, June 7, 2019
Bill HarringtonBill Harrington
Friday, June 7, 2019
Darrell Darrell "Smoky" Schmuker
Friday, June 7, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Trudy KammingaTrudy Kamminga
Friday, July 19, 2019
Ruth HempenRuth Hempen
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Gerald PerrinGerald Perrin
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Donald VickersDonald Vickers
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
John CarrelJohn Carrel
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Gerrit PostGerrit Post
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Steve JannerethSteve Jannereth
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Howard SytsmaHoward Sytsma
Saturday, July 13, 2019
Michael LapekesMichael Lapekes
Thursday, July 11, 2019
Aldert PostmaAldert Postma
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Ronal BellRonal Bell
Tuesday, July 9, 2019
Marcia KustoMarcia Kusto
Saturday, July 6, 2019
James HuismanJames Huisman
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Amanda DeGroot-AdgateAmanda DeGroot-Adgate
Tuesday, July 2, 2019
Lilliana TatoreLilliana Tatore
Sunday, June 30, 2019
Janet JongertJanet Jongert
Friday, June 28, 2019