Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

doumagary225

Service Information

Gary Duane Douma 
Visitation: Sunday, January 27 from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm and Monday, January 28, one hour prior to the service all at Hillside Community Church, 1440 68th St. SE 
Service: 11 am Monday, January 28, at Hillside Community Church

Cemetery: Winchester
Memorials: World Renew, 1700 28th St. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49508 https://worldrenew.net/donate

 Gary Duane Douma, 72, of Byron Center, a gentle man, and a true gentleman, passed peacefully into the presence of God on Wednesday, January 23, 2019. He will be lovingly remembered by his wife, Kathy; his children and grandchildren, Russ and Natalie Douma (Maxwell, Macey), Brenda and Alan Sloterbeek (Megan, Erin, David), Carrie and Doug DeVries (April, Brooke, Nathan), and Jason Douma; his brothers and sisters, Ron and Norma Douma, Wes and Mary Douma, Sharon (Vos) and Tom Pasma, Carla and Chris Tell; brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law, Beth and David Butterbaugh, Fred and Valerie Syswerda, Mark and Linda Syswerda; many loved nieces and nephews. The family will greet visitors on Sunday, January 27, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Hillside Community Church, 1440 68th St. SE, where a memorial service celebrating Gary's life will be held at 11 am Monday, January 28. There will be one hour visitation prior to the service from 10 - 11 am. In place of flowers, please make a gift in memory of Gary to World Renew, an organization he cared about deeply.  

                                                 
 

Comments  

# Shirley A Rhoda 2019-01-26 17:38
My sincere, heartfelt sympathy to Garys family. Many wonderful memories remain in my heart and mind, of the many hours spent together as cousins in our childhood. Rest in peace dear Gary, in the arms of our Lord.
# Dean Vander Mey 2019-01-26 11:07
So sorry for your loss Douma family....
I have some fond memories of Gary back in the day
Dean’s Pad Service ran out of the barn at the 100th street location.
Gary was indeed a gentleman and loved a good laugh and was quick with his wit!
I would have attended funeral but I am in India until
1-31-2019.
May God comfort you all in this time of grief.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Patricia BuistPatricia Buist
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Joyce SignorJoyce Signor
Saturday, July 27, 2019
Pauline BarczewskiPauline Barczewski
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
James Grant Sr.James Grant Sr.
Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Nadeen ThompsonNadeen Thompson
Monday, July 22, 2019
Tom Van HaftenTom Van Haften
Monday, July 22, 2019
Trudy KammingaTrudy Kamminga
Friday, July 19, 2019
Ruth HempenRuth Hempen
Thursday, July 18, 2019
Gerald PerrinGerald Perrin
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
Donald VickersDonald Vickers
Wednesday, July 17, 2019
John CarrelJohn Carrel
Tuesday, July 16, 2019
Gerrit PostGerrit Post
Sunday, July 14, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Robert LockridgeRobert Lockridge
Saturday, August 17, 2019
Ed GeersEd Geers
Friday, August 16, 2019
Deloris SassoDeloris Sasso
Thursday, August 15, 2019
David CochranDavid Cochran
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
John JohnsonJohn Johnson
Monday, August 12, 2019
Peter KasPeter Kas
Sunday, August 11, 2019
Jack KruisJack Kruis
Saturday, August 10, 2019
Karen BuiterKaren Buiter
Friday, August 9, 2019
Rosemary StepanekRosemary Stepanek
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Thomas MillerThomas Miller
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Brian FeirickBrian Feirick
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Jack Limbacher, Jr.Jack Limbacher, Jr.
Thursday, August 8, 2019
Robert UpperRobert Upper
Monday, August 5, 2019
Guy WillsGuy Wills
Monday, August 5, 2019
Gerald GilcherGerald Gilcher
Friday, August 2, 2019
Catherine BrinksCatherine Brinks
Friday, August 2, 2019