Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

doumagary225

Service Information

Gary Duane Douma 
Visitation: Sunday, January 27 from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm and Monday, January 28, one hour prior to the service all at Hillside Community Church, 1440 68th St. SE 
Service: 11 am Monday, January 28, at Hillside Community Church

Cemetery: Winchester
Memorials: World Renew, 1700 28th St. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49508 https://worldrenew.net/donate

 Gary Duane Douma, 72, of Byron Center, a gentle man, and a true gentleman, passed peacefully into the presence of God on Wednesday, January 23, 2019. He will be lovingly remembered by his wife, Kathy; his children and grandchildren, Russ and Natalie Douma (Maxwell, Macey), Brenda and Alan Sloterbeek (Megan, Erin, David), Carrie and Doug DeVries (April, Brooke, Nathan), and Jason Douma; his brothers and sisters, Ron and Norma Douma, Wes and Mary Douma, Sharon (Vos) and Tom Pasma, Carla and Chris Tell; brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law, Beth and David Butterbaugh, Fred and Valerie Syswerda, Mark and Linda Syswerda; many loved nieces and nephews. The family will greet visitors on Sunday, January 27, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Hillside Community Church, 1440 68th St. SE, where a memorial service celebrating Gary's life will be held at 11 am Monday, January 28. There will be one hour visitation prior to the service from 10 - 11 am. In place of flowers, please make a gift in memory of Gary to World Renew, an organization he cared about deeply.  

                                                 
 

Comments  

# Shirley A Rhoda 2019-01-26 17:38
My sincere, heartfelt sympathy to Garys family. Many wonderful memories remain in my heart and mind, of the many hours spent together as cousins in our childhood. Rest in peace dear Gary, in the arms of our Lord.
# Dean Vander Mey 2019-01-26 11:07
So sorry for your loss Douma family....
I have some fond memories of Gary back in the day
Dean’s Pad Service ran out of the barn at the 100th street location.
Gary was indeed a gentleman and loved a good laugh and was quick with his wit!
I would have attended funeral but I am in India until
1-31-2019.
May God comfort you all in this time of grief.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Janice AndersonJanice Anderson
Thursday, October 3, 2019
Jim MacDonaldJim MacDonald
Wednesday, October 2, 2019
Hiroko (Betty) GeelhoedHiroko (Betty) Geelhoed
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Wayne VanderWalWayne VanderWal
Monday, September 30, 2019
Kathleen CookKathleen Cook
Sunday, September 29, 2019
Jerrel De KokJerrel De Kok
Tuesday, September 24, 2019
Ron CammengaRon Cammenga
Sunday, September 22, 2019
Gloria MelinnGloria Melinn
Sunday, September 22, 2019
Nell OlthouseNell Olthouse
Saturday, September 21, 2019
William ScottWilliam Scott
Thursday, September 12, 2019
Ronald YoungRonald Young
Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Marianne Vanden TopMarianne Vanden Top
Monday, September 9, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Arlene WilesArlene Wiles
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Marcella StoepkerMarcella Stoepker
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Sandra WatkinsSandra Watkins
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Rev. Larry JohnsonRev. Larry Johnson
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Mary Jane CasterMary Jane Caster
Sunday, October 13, 2019
Beth HarveyBeth Harvey
Saturday, October 12, 2019
Jim SmithJim Smith
Friday, October 11, 2019
Anthony SaboAnthony Sabo
Friday, October 11, 2019
Ruth StoutenRuth Stouten
Thursday, October 10, 2019
Randy YntemaRandy Yntema
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Bill OppenneerBill Oppenneer
Wednesday, October 9, 2019
Norma MinkusNorma Minkus
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Jennie HoekstraJennie Hoekstra
Tuesday, October 8, 2019
Richard SmithRichard Smith
Friday, October 4, 2019
Rita CiluffoRita Ciluffo
Friday, October 4, 2019
Carol PostCarol Post
Friday, October 4, 2019