Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

doumagary225

Service Information

Gary Duane Douma 
Visitation: Sunday, January 27 from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm and Monday, January 28, one hour prior to the service all at Hillside Community Church, 1440 68th St. SE 
Service: 11 am Monday, January 28, at Hillside Community Church

Cemetery: Winchester
Memorials: World Renew, 1700 28th St. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49508 https://worldrenew.net/donate

 Gary Duane Douma, 72, of Byron Center, a gentle man, and a true gentleman, passed peacefully into the presence of God on Wednesday, January 23, 2019. He will be lovingly remembered by his wife, Kathy; his children and grandchildren, Russ and Natalie Douma (Maxwell, Macey), Brenda and Alan Sloterbeek (Megan, Erin, David), Carrie and Doug DeVries (April, Brooke, Nathan), and Jason Douma; his brothers and sisters, Ron and Norma Douma, Wes and Mary Douma, Sharon (Vos) and Tom Pasma, Carla and Chris Tell; brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law, Beth and David Butterbaugh, Fred and Valerie Syswerda, Mark and Linda Syswerda; many loved nieces and nephews. The family will greet visitors on Sunday, January 27, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Hillside Community Church, 1440 68th St. SE, where a memorial service celebrating Gary's life will be held at 11 am Monday, January 28. There will be one hour visitation prior to the service from 10 - 11 am. In place of flowers, please make a gift in memory of Gary to World Renew, an organization he cared about deeply.  

                                                 
 

Comments  

# Shirley A Rhoda 2019-01-26 17:38
My sincere, heartfelt sympathy to Garys family. Many wonderful memories remain in my heart and mind, of the many hours spent together as cousins in our childhood. Rest in peace dear Gary, in the arms of our Lord.
# Dean Vander Mey 2019-01-26 11:07
So sorry for your loss Douma family....
I have some fond memories of Gary back in the day
Dean’s Pad Service ran out of the barn at the 100th street location.
Gary was indeed a gentleman and loved a good laugh and was quick with his wit!
I would have attended funeral but I am in India until
1-31-2019.
May God comfort you all in this time of grief.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Geraldine TiemeyerGeraldine Tiemeyer
Monday, May 6, 2019
Lane IdemaLane Idema
Monday, May 6, 2019
Alice RathAlice Rath
Sunday, May 5, 2019
Steven MollemaSteven Mollema
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Elizabeth FolkersmaElizabeth Folkersma
Friday, May 3, 2019
Douglas BarnhardDouglas Barnhard
Friday, May 3, 2019
Evelyn HetJonkEvelyn HetJonk
Friday, May 3, 2019
Bertha DillenbeckBertha Dillenbeck
Friday, May 3, 2019
Doris JohnsonDoris Johnson
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Henry Stuyfzand Jr.Henry Stuyfzand Jr.
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Karen GuthrieKaren Guthrie
Monday, April 29, 2019
Arlene Van TilArlene Van Til
Monday, April 29, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

John HoughJohn Hough
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Louise HofmannLouise Hofmann
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Jan HenryJan Henry
Sunday, May 19, 2019
Karen TenHaafKaren TenHaaf
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
John VersluysJohn Versluys
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Richard ZoodsmaRichard Zoodsma
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Donald DruartDonald Druart
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Abe DeweyAbe Dewey
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Joyce HaferJoyce Hafer
Monday, May 13, 2019
Dianne MorrisDianne Morris
Monday, May 13, 2019
Dawn SidockDawn Sidock
Friday, May 10, 2019
Genevieve KladderGenevieve Kladder
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Gerry LukaartGerry Lukaart
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Bill HarringtonBill Harrington
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
James HoezeeJames Hoezee
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Fred VanDykFred VanDyk
Tuesday, May 7, 2019