Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

doumagary225

Service Information

Gary Duane Douma 
Visitation: Sunday, January 27 from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm and Monday, January 28, one hour prior to the service all at Hillside Community Church, 1440 68th St. SE 
Service: 11 am Monday, January 28, at Hillside Community Church

Cemetery: Winchester
Memorials: World Renew, 1700 28th St. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49508 https://worldrenew.net/donate

 Gary Duane Douma, 72, of Byron Center, a gentle man, and a true gentleman, passed peacefully into the presence of God on Wednesday, January 23, 2019. He will be lovingly remembered by his wife, Kathy; his children and grandchildren, Russ and Natalie Douma (Maxwell, Macey), Brenda and Alan Sloterbeek (Megan, Erin, David), Carrie and Doug DeVries (April, Brooke, Nathan), and Jason Douma; his brothers and sisters, Ron and Norma Douma, Wes and Mary Douma, Sharon (Vos) and Tom Pasma, Carla and Chris Tell; brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law, Beth and David Butterbaugh, Fred and Valerie Syswerda, Mark and Linda Syswerda; many loved nieces and nephews. The family will greet visitors on Sunday, January 27, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Hillside Community Church, 1440 68th St. SE, where a memorial service celebrating Gary's life will be held at 11 am Monday, January 28. There will be one hour visitation prior to the service from 10 - 11 am. In place of flowers, please make a gift in memory of Gary to World Renew, an organization he cared about deeply.  

                                                 
 

Comments  

# Shirley A Rhoda 2019-01-26 17:38
My sincere, heartfelt sympathy to Garys family. Many wonderful memories remain in my heart and mind, of the many hours spent together as cousins in our childhood. Rest in peace dear Gary, in the arms of our Lord.
# Dean Vander Mey 2019-01-26 11:07
So sorry for your loss Douma family....
I have some fond memories of Gary back in the day
Dean’s Pad Service ran out of the barn at the 100th street location.
Gary was indeed a gentleman and loved a good laugh and was quick with his wit!
I would have attended funeral but I am in India until
1-31-2019.
May God comfort you all in this time of grief.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Nancy DrummondNancy Drummond
Wednesday, February 27, 2019
Mary MeyerinkMary Meyerink
Tuesday, February 26, 2019
Grace AlbertsGrace Alberts
Monday, February 25, 2019
Roy SeyffertRoy Seyffert
Sunday, February 24, 2019
Cody ZwiersCody Zwiers
Thursday, February 21, 2019
Jessie PlatschoreJessie Platschore
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Ella Jean MannElla Jean Mann
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Rev. Warren BurgessRev. Warren Burgess
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Junior BrockJunior Brock
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Matt KoningMatt Koning
Sunday, February 17, 2019
Marvin HonderdMarvin Honderd
Saturday, February 16, 2019
Billy BoggsBilly Boggs
Thursday, February 14, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

June RaynesJune Raynes
Monday, March 18, 2019
Wilma GunninkWilma Gunnink
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Paul BenninkPaul Bennink
Saturday, March 16, 2019
David RosartDavid Rosart
Saturday, March 16, 2019
Geraldine VaderGeraldine Vader
Friday, March 15, 2019
Lucille WierengaLucille Wierenga
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Dino PezzatoDino Pezzato
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Donna SymonsDonna Symons
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
John W. PostJohn W. Post
Monday, March 11, 2019
Margaret RebMargaret Reb
Friday, March 8, 2019
Jed GerkenJed Gerken
Friday, March 8, 2019
Carolyn OlingerCarolyn Olinger
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Gerald De VosGerald De Vos
Sunday, March 3, 2019
David RothDavid Roth
Saturday, March 2, 2019
Jacqueline WestersJacqueline Westers
Saturday, March 2, 2019
Ruth DiederingRuth Diedering
Wednesday, February 27, 2019