Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

doumagary225

Service Information

Gary Duane Douma 
Visitation: Sunday, January 27 from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm and Monday, January 28, one hour prior to the service all at Hillside Community Church, 1440 68th St. SE 
Service: 11 am Monday, January 28, at Hillside Community Church

Cemetery: Winchester
Memorials: World Renew, 1700 28th St. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49508 https://worldrenew.net/donate

 Gary Duane Douma, 72, of Byron Center, a gentle man, and a true gentleman, passed peacefully into the presence of God on Wednesday, January 23, 2019. He will be lovingly remembered by his wife, Kathy; his children and grandchildren, Russ and Natalie Douma (Maxwell, Macey), Brenda and Alan Sloterbeek (Megan, Erin, David), Carrie and Doug DeVries (April, Brooke, Nathan), and Jason Douma; his brothers and sisters, Ron and Norma Douma, Wes and Mary Douma, Sharon (Vos) and Tom Pasma, Carla and Chris Tell; brothers-in-law and sisters-in-law, Beth and David Butterbaugh, Fred and Valerie Syswerda, Mark and Linda Syswerda; many loved nieces and nephews. The family will greet visitors on Sunday, January 27, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Hillside Community Church, 1440 68th St. SE, where a memorial service celebrating Gary's life will be held at 11 am Monday, January 28. There will be one hour visitation prior to the service from 10 - 11 am. In place of flowers, please make a gift in memory of Gary to World Renew, an organization he cared about deeply.  

                                                 
 

Comments  

# Shirley A Rhoda 2019-01-26 17:38
My sincere, heartfelt sympathy to Garys family. Many wonderful memories remain in my heart and mind, of the many hours spent together as cousins in our childhood. Rest in peace dear Gary, in the arms of our Lord.
# Dean Vander Mey 2019-01-26 11:07
So sorry for your loss Douma family....
I have some fond memories of Gary back in the day
Dean’s Pad Service ran out of the barn at the 100th street location.
Gary was indeed a gentleman and loved a good laugh and was quick with his wit!
I would have attended funeral but I am in India until
1-31-2019.
May God comfort you all in this time of grief.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Gerald LucasGerald Lucas
Tuesday, November 5, 2019
Hunter AmesHunter Ames
Monday, November 4, 2019
Kyle KingmaKyle Kingma
Sunday, November 3, 2019
Maryruth CorstangeMaryruth Corstange
Thursday, October 31, 2019
Rev. Bill RenkemaRev. Bill Renkema
Monday, October 28, 2019
Dan PfenningDan Pfenning
Monday, October 28, 2019
Tom RidderbosTom Ridderbos
Monday, October 28, 2019
Duane DoorDuane Door
Friday, October 25, 2019
Carl DenHoutenCarl DenHouten
Friday, October 25, 2019
Arlene WilesArlene Wiles
Tuesday, October 22, 2019
Carolyn SizeloveCarolyn Sizelove
Monday, October 21, 2019
Marcella StoepkerMarcella Stoepker
Thursday, October 17, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Ethel VeenstraEthel Veenstra
Monday, November 18, 2019
Tanya WaskiewiczTanya Waskiewicz
Sunday, November 17, 2019
Bill FitzsimmonsBill Fitzsimmons
Saturday, November 16, 2019
James O'HaganJames O'Hagan
Friday, November 15, 2019
Sally BullisSally Bullis
Friday, November 15, 2019
John HylkemaJohn Hylkema
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Doris EggerdingDoris Eggerding
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Fredrick LucasFredrick Lucas
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Lucy SmithLucy Smith
Wednesday, November 13, 2019
Antonina RussoAntonina Russo
Sunday, November 10, 2019
Geraldine SchuhmanGeraldine Schuhman
Sunday, November 10, 2019
Mark GantMark Gant
Saturday, November 9, 2019
Marie BosinMarie Bosin
Friday, November 8, 2019
Arthur VanDerWeideArthur VanDerWeide
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Vonda EssenburgVonda Essenburg
Thursday, November 7, 2019
Adriana KommerAdriana Kommer
Wednesday, November 6, 2019