Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

plegerroy 333

Service Information

Roy Walden Pleger II 

Service: 2 pm Saturday, December 22, at Blain Cemetery

Cemetery:  Blain
Memorials: To Stroo Funeral Home

 

Roy Walden Pleger II, brother of Paula Garza, partner of Tennille Peyerk, father of Aerianna Smith, and uncle of Thomas, Megan, Kailey, Nathan, Damon, Carson, and a dear friend to so many, passed away on Monday, December 17, 2018 at 9:47pm of a massive heart attack at the age of 52. Roy attended Calvin College and Point Loma Nazarene University and he graduated from East Kentwood High School and Michigan State University. He was an owner of R. Walden Palettes and Lighthouse Real Estate Company. 
Roy loved his family, friends and pets. He was best described as the life of the party, filled with laughs and smiles.  Roy was blessed with the gift to gab, he enjoyed telling stories to anyone who would listen, with the intent of seeing you smile or making you laugh. Roy was an extremist, who was always up for the next adventure, proclaiming “the difficult we do right away, the impossible takes just a little longer.” He loved everything outdoors from mountaineering to sailing, hiking, biking, skiing, skydiving, surfing,  bungee jumping, and hunting.  Roy a.k.a THE DUDE was an entre-preneur, a clown, a loyal friend, and a devoted father who made an impact on everyone he met. Although having a child was not part of Roy’s life plan, he took Aerianna under his wing and lived to guide her, and loved every minute of it. He lived to see her shine through him. 

Roy will be missed and his legacy will continue on through the life of others and our memories with him will last a lifetime. Roy’s last words were, “oh, I’m going over,” just before he crossed over to his new heavenly home to be with his loved ones that passed before him. Services will be held at Blain Cemetery at 2 pm, Saturday, December 22. In lieu of flowers, donations can be made to Stroo Funeral Home.
 
STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST. SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Sharon VanderWoudeSharon VanderWoude
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Jane WittemanJane Witteman
Wednesday, December 26, 2018
Joanne PostmaJoanne Postma
Thursday, December 20, 2018
Ethel MillerEthel Miller
Monday, December 17, 2018
Roy PlegerRoy Pleger
Monday, December 17, 2018
Ted StormTed Storm
Sunday, December 16, 2018
Herman ScholtenHerman Scholten
Saturday, December 15, 2018
Joyce KnappJoyce Knapp
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Esther HallEsther Hall
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Douglas ArnoldDouglas Arnold
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Helen SabinHelen Sabin
Monday, December 10, 2018
Marvin MingerinkMarvin Mingerink
Wednesday, December 5, 2018
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Anita Harrington Anita Harrington
Thursday, January 17, 2019
Joan (Ann) TimmermanJoan (Ann) Timmerman
Monday, January 14, 2019
Sharon KaneSharon Kane
Tuesday, January 8, 2019
Kenneth WertKenneth Wert
Monday, January 7, 2019
Donna WhitakerDonna Whitaker
Sunday, January 6, 2019
Doris YarringtonDoris Yarrington
Saturday, January 5, 2019
Joanne BuistJoanne Buist
Friday, January 4, 2019
Clifford LarsonClifford Larson
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Teddie CurtisTeddie Curtis
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Alice FranciscoAlice Francisco
Thursday, January 3, 2019
Charleen DeVriesCharleen DeVries
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Rob VeltingRob Velting
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Michael SoltysMichael Soltys
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
John HagerJohn Hager
Saturday, December 29, 2018
Theresa DashnerTheresa Dashner
Thursday, December 27, 2018