Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

plegerroy 333

Service Information

Roy Walden Pleger II 

Service: 2 pm Saturday, December 22, at Blain Cemetery

Cemetery:  Blain
Memorials: To Stroo Funeral Home

 

Roy Walden Pleger II, brother of Paula Garza, partner of Tennille Peyerk, father of Aerianna Smith, and uncle of Thomas, Megan, Kailey, Nathan, Damon, Carson, and a dear friend to so many, passed away on Monday, December 17, 2018 at 9:47pm of a massive heart attack at the age of 52. Roy attended Calvin College and Point Loma Nazarene University and he graduated from East Kentwood High School and Michigan State University. He was an owner of R. Walden Palettes and Lighthouse Real Estate Company. 
Roy loved his family, friends and pets. He was best described as the life of the party, filled with laughs and smiles.  Roy was blessed with the gift to gab, he enjoyed telling stories to anyone who would listen, with the intent of seeing you smile or making you laugh. Roy was an extremist, who was always up for the next adventure, proclaiming “the difficult we do right away, the impossible takes just a little longer.” He loved everything outdoors from mountaineering to sailing, hiking, biking, skiing, skydiving, surfing,  bungee jumping, and hunting.  Roy a.k.a THE DUDE was an entre-preneur, a clown, a loyal friend, and a devoted father who made an impact on everyone he met. Although having a child was not part of Roy’s life plan, he took Aerianna under his wing and lived to guide her, and loved every minute of it. He lived to see her shine through him. 

Roy will be missed and his legacy will continue on through the life of others and our memories with him will last a lifetime. Roy’s last words were, “oh, I’m going over,” just before he crossed over to his new heavenly home to be with his loved ones that passed before him. Services will be held at Blain Cemetery at 2 pm, Saturday, December 22. In lieu of flowers, donations can be made to Stroo Funeral Home.
 
STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST. SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Geraldine TiemeyerGeraldine Tiemeyer
Monday, May 6, 2019
Lane IdemaLane Idema
Monday, May 6, 2019
Alice RathAlice Rath
Sunday, May 5, 2019
Steven MollemaSteven Mollema
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Elizabeth FolkersmaElizabeth Folkersma
Friday, May 3, 2019
Douglas BarnhardDouglas Barnhard
Friday, May 3, 2019
Evelyn HetJonkEvelyn HetJonk
Friday, May 3, 2019
Bertha DillenbeckBertha Dillenbeck
Friday, May 3, 2019
Doris JohnsonDoris Johnson
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Henry Stuyfzand Jr.Henry Stuyfzand Jr.
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Karen GuthrieKaren Guthrie
Monday, April 29, 2019
Arlene Van TilArlene Van Til
Monday, April 29, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

John HoughJohn Hough
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Louise HofmannLouise Hofmann
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Jan HenryJan Henry
Sunday, May 19, 2019
Karen TenHaafKaren TenHaaf
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
John VersluysJohn Versluys
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Richard ZoodsmaRichard Zoodsma
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Donald DruartDonald Druart
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Abe DeweyAbe Dewey
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Joyce HaferJoyce Hafer
Monday, May 13, 2019
Dianne MorrisDianne Morris
Monday, May 13, 2019
Dawn SidockDawn Sidock
Friday, May 10, 2019
Genevieve KladderGenevieve Kladder
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Gerry LukaartGerry Lukaart
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Bill HarringtonBill Harrington
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
James HoezeeJames Hoezee
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Fred VanDykFred VanDyk
Tuesday, May 7, 2019