Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

BarnesLucy cr33

Service Information

Lucy Madeline Barnes 
 
Service: A committal service will be held 11 am Friday, December 7, at Roseland Park Cemetery in Berkley, MI. 



 Lucy Madeline Barnes, age 101, of Kentwood, entered her heavenly home on Tuesday, December 4, 2018.  Leaving school at age 14 to help support her family during the years of the Great Depression, Lucy returned to school at an age when most people retire and maintained a 4.0 grade point average. Lucy was very proud of her birth state, Massachusetts, and although her early years were filled with deprivation and challenges, they left her with fascinating stories that she told in her clear, crisp New England accent. A devoted bargain hunter, with her creative touch and artistic bent Lucy turned many of her finds into the arts and crafts that she loved to create. Through the years, Lucy continued to remain active in her community, volunteering for such organizations as the Cancer Society, the Salvation Army, and the Literature Coalition. She was preceded in death by her husband, Alan; son-in-law, David Keefer; a great grandson Dillon Stuck; her parents, three brothers and one sister. Lucy will be lovingly remembered by her daughters, Barbara Keefer and Bonnie (Gregory) Oliver; four grandchildren; six great grandchildren; and eight great-great grandchildren. A committal service will be held 11 am Friday, December 7, at Roseland Park Cemetery in Berkley, MI.   

             STROO FUNERAL HOME, 1095 68TH ST. SE, GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508

                                                     616 455-9280

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Geraldine TiemeyerGeraldine Tiemeyer
Monday, May 6, 2019
Lane IdemaLane Idema
Monday, May 6, 2019
Alice RathAlice Rath
Sunday, May 5, 2019
Steven MollemaSteven Mollema
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Elizabeth FolkersmaElizabeth Folkersma
Friday, May 3, 2019
Douglas BarnhardDouglas Barnhard
Friday, May 3, 2019
Evelyn HetJonkEvelyn HetJonk
Friday, May 3, 2019
Bertha DillenbeckBertha Dillenbeck
Friday, May 3, 2019
Doris JohnsonDoris Johnson
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Henry Stuyfzand Jr.Henry Stuyfzand Jr.
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Karen GuthrieKaren Guthrie
Monday, April 29, 2019
Arlene Van TilArlene Van Til
Monday, April 29, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

John HoughJohn Hough
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Louise HofmannLouise Hofmann
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Jan HenryJan Henry
Sunday, May 19, 2019
Karen TenHaafKaren TenHaaf
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
John VersluysJohn Versluys
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Richard ZoodsmaRichard Zoodsma
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Donald DruartDonald Druart
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Abe DeweyAbe Dewey
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Joyce HaferJoyce Hafer
Monday, May 13, 2019
Dianne MorrisDianne Morris
Monday, May 13, 2019
Dawn SidockDawn Sidock
Friday, May 10, 2019
Genevieve KladderGenevieve Kladder
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Gerry LukaartGerry Lukaart
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Bill HarringtonBill Harrington
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
James HoezeeJames Hoezee
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Fred VanDykFred VanDyk
Tuesday, May 7, 2019