Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

laker Laura 223

Service Information

Laura May (Smith) Laker 

Visitation: All at Woodward Baptist Church Thursday, September 27 from 6 - 8 pm and Friday from 10 - 11 am followed by the service 

Service: 11 am Friday, September 28 at Woodward Baptist Church, 2160 76th St. SW Byron Center, MI 49315

Cemetery: Elmwood Cemetery, Wayland 
Memorials: Spectrum Hospice, 25 Michigan St. Suite 4100 Grand Rapids, MI 49503 https://www.spectrumhealth.org/foundation

or Allegan Meals on Wheels, 2900 Wilson Ave. SW, Grandville, MI 49418 http://mealsonwheelswesternmichigan.org/donate/


 

Laura May Laker, age 91, of Grandville, daughter of Claude and Geta Smith of Wayland, went to be with her Lord and Savior on Monday, September 17, 2018. Laura was preceded in death by her husband, Myron J. (Pete) Laker; sister, Frieda Cook; brothers, Bob, Guy, and Jay Smith; and daughter-in-law, Kathy Laker. Laura is survived by her five children, George (Edna) Laker, Geta (Tim) Brockway, Mitch Laker, Kelly (Joyce) Laker, Scott (Coleen) Laker; 16 grandchildren; 38 great grandchildren; and four great great grandchildren. Visitation with family will be from 6 - 8 PM Thursday, September 27 at the church. The memorial service will be held on Friday September 28 at 11 AM with visitation starting at 10 AM. Both will be held at Woodward Baptist Church, 2160 76th St. Byron Center, Mi, with Pastor Lance Laker officiating. Donations can be made to Spectrum Hospice or Allegan Meals on Wheels.

 

                                                Stroo Funeral Home, Inc.
                                                   1095 68th Street SE
                                               Grand Rapids, MI 49508

 

Comments  

# John Cook 2018-10-08 19:27
Geta and siblings,

I'm sure that in her 91 years, your mother gave you plenty of memories to recall that will help to ease the loss of her here on Earth. May those memories be a comfort to you.
# Bob & Ellen Krup 2018-09-23 21:14
Our sympathy to our schoolmate Geta and her family.
May the Lord grant you peace in this difficult time.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Alice SterkAlice Sterk
Friday, October 19, 2018
Leland ArmsLeland Arms
Monday, October 15, 2018
Elizabeth PartakElizabeth Partak
Saturday, October 13, 2018
Bud ApolBud Apol
Friday, October 12, 2018
Robert HerrmannRobert Herrmann
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Benita HernandezBenita Hernandez
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Gregg BlackGregg Black
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Doris DeYoung (Homrich)Doris DeYoung (Homrich)
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Inez DehnInez Dehn
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Sharon VoetbergSharon Voetberg
Monday, October 8, 2018
Raymond Vanden AkkerRaymond Vanden Akker
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Richard ThackerRichard Thacker
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Ray PellRay Pell
Friday, November 16, 2018
Maria VallejoMaria Vallejo
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
William CushmanWilliam Cushman
Monday, November 12, 2018
Warren MeyerWarren Meyer
Monday, November 12, 2018
Eula DavisonEula Davison
Sunday, November 11, 2018
Joe MotleyJoe Motley
Saturday, November 10, 2018
Laurel De GrootLaurel De Groot
Friday, November 9, 2018
Pastor Herbert Little Jr.Pastor Herbert Little Jr.
Monday, November 5, 2018
Henrietta BolhuisHenrietta Bolhuis
Monday, November 5, 2018
Hilda RozemaHilda Rozema
Saturday, November 3, 2018
Valora BeachValora Beach
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Rita RackettRita Rackett
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
David PorterDavid Porter
Monday, October 29, 2018
Steve BrockSteve Brock
Sunday, October 28, 2018
Douglas Van MeursDouglas Van Meurs
Saturday, October 27, 2018
Bud ThomasBud Thomas
Saturday, October 27, 2018