Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

laker Laura 223

Service Information

Laura May (Smith) Laker 

Visitation: All at Woodward Baptist Church Thursday, September 27 from 6 - 8 pm and Friday from 10 - 11 am followed by the service 

Service: 11 am Friday, September 28 at Woodward Baptist Church, 2160 76th St. SW Byron Center, MI 49315

Cemetery: Elmwood Cemetery, Wayland 
Memorials: Spectrum Hospice, 25 Michigan St. Suite 4100 Grand Rapids, MI 49503 https://www.spectrumhealth.org/foundation

or Allegan Meals on Wheels, 2900 Wilson Ave. SW, Grandville, MI 49418 http://mealsonwheelswesternmichigan.org/donate/


 

Laura May Laker, age 91, of Grandville, daughter of Claude and Geta Smith of Wayland, went to be with her Lord and Savior on Monday, September 17, 2018. Laura was preceded in death by her husband, Myron J. (Pete) Laker; sister, Frieda Cook; brothers, Bob, Guy, and Jay Smith; and daughter-in-law, Kathy Laker. Laura is survived by her five children, George (Edna) Laker, Geta (Tim) Brockway, Mitch Laker, Kelly (Joyce) Laker, Scott (Coleen) Laker; 16 grandchildren; 38 great grandchildren; and four great great grandchildren. Visitation with family will be from 6 - 8 PM Thursday, September 27 at the church. The memorial service will be held on Friday September 28 at 11 AM with visitation starting at 10 AM. Both will be held at Woodward Baptist Church, 2160 76th St. Byron Center, Mi, with Pastor Lance Laker officiating. Donations can be made to Spectrum Hospice or Allegan Meals on Wheels.

 

                                                Stroo Funeral Home, Inc.
                                                   1095 68th Street SE
                                               Grand Rapids, MI 49508

 

Comments  

# John Cook 2018-10-08 19:27
Geta and siblings,

I'm sure that in her 91 years, your mother gave you plenty of memories to recall that will help to ease the loss of her here on Earth. May those memories be a comfort to you.
# Bob & Ellen Krup 2018-09-23 21:14
Our sympathy to our schoolmate Geta and her family.
May the Lord grant you peace in this difficult time.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Geraldine TiemeyerGeraldine Tiemeyer
Monday, May 6, 2019
Lane IdemaLane Idema
Monday, May 6, 2019
Alice RathAlice Rath
Sunday, May 5, 2019
Steven MollemaSteven Mollema
Saturday, May 4, 2019
Elizabeth FolkersmaElizabeth Folkersma
Friday, May 3, 2019
Douglas BarnhardDouglas Barnhard
Friday, May 3, 2019
Evelyn HetJonkEvelyn HetJonk
Friday, May 3, 2019
Bertha DillenbeckBertha Dillenbeck
Friday, May 3, 2019
Doris JohnsonDoris Johnson
Wednesday, May 1, 2019
Henry Stuyfzand Jr.Henry Stuyfzand Jr.
Tuesday, April 30, 2019
Karen GuthrieKaren Guthrie
Monday, April 29, 2019
Arlene Van TilArlene Van Til
Monday, April 29, 2019
Recent Memorials

Current Services

John HoughJohn Hough
Wednesday, May 22, 2019
Louise HofmannLouise Hofmann
Tuesday, May 21, 2019
Jan HenryJan Henry
Sunday, May 19, 2019
Karen TenHaafKaren TenHaaf
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
John VersluysJohn Versluys
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Richard ZoodsmaRichard Zoodsma
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Donald DruartDonald Druart
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Abe DeweyAbe Dewey
Tuesday, May 14, 2019
Joyce HaferJoyce Hafer
Monday, May 13, 2019
Dianne MorrisDianne Morris
Monday, May 13, 2019
Dawn SidockDawn Sidock
Friday, May 10, 2019
Genevieve KladderGenevieve Kladder
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Gerry LukaartGerry Lukaart
Thursday, May 9, 2019
Bill HarringtonBill Harrington
Wednesday, May 8, 2019
James HoezeeJames Hoezee
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Fred VanDykFred VanDyk
Tuesday, May 7, 2019