Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

hookernorman2545

Service Information

Norman Willis Hooker 

Visitation:  Thursday from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: 11 am Friday, September 14, at Good News Baptist Church, 6830 Eastern Ave. SE.Grand Rapids, MI 49548

Cemetery:  Rosedale Memorial Park
Memorials: to Good News Baptist Church, 6830 Eastern Ave. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49548

or the Van Andel Institute for Parkinson's, 333 Bostwick Ave. NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503 https://secure2.convio.net/vai/site/Donation2?df_id=1440&1440.donation=form1


 

Norman Willis Hooker, aged 82, of Kentwood, was blessedly called home by his Lord and Savior on Monday, September 10, 2018, after a courageous and humble 15 year battle with Parkinson's. Job 42:5 “ I have heard of You by the hearing of the ear, but now my eye sees You.” He was preceded in death by his first wife, Ruth (Silver), whom he heroically cared for for 2 years, before she passed of ALS in 2002. Dad loved God, his family, TRAINS, and doing 1000 piece puzzles. He proudly served his country in the U.S. Army. He leaves behind his wife “Super Woman“, Lynette (Schaffner); children, Phil (Mimi) Hooker, Amy (Mitch) Waite, Jennifer (Jay) Wyllys; grandchildren, Deniz (Boris) Borowski, Alex Hooker, Victoria (Mike) Antuma, Scarlett Waite, Issabell Waite, Guinavier Waite, Gabriella Wyllys, Domenic Wyllys; two great grandchildren, Brooks and Colton Antuma, brother, Will (Sharon) Hooker.  The family wishes to thank the American House and Kindred Hospice for their loving care of Norm. The Memorial Service will be held  at 11 am Friday, September 14 at  Good News Baptist Church, 6830 Eastern SE, with Rev. Brian Cederquist and Rev. Terry Frazine officiating. Those planning expressions of sympathy are asked to consider the Good News Baptist Church Building Fund, or the Van Andel Institute for Parkinson’s. Friends and family may celebrate Norm’s life with his family on Thursday September 13 from 2-4 and 6-8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home. 


                                               Stroo Funeral Home, Inc.
                                                   1095 68th Street SE
                                                Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Comments  

# Doug and Kathy Kool 2018-09-12 13:09
We send our heartfelt sympathy in the passing of your dad. Through our relationship with Jennifer (Jenner to our children), we saw a glimpse of Norm's love and faith. You will have many fond memories to remember for years to come. We wish you God's peace.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Thelma MontsmaThelma Montsma
Monday, August 27, 2018
Dorothy McClymontDorothy McClymont
Monday, August 27, 2018
Gordon PollGordon Poll
Monday, August 20, 2018
Donald RawlingsDonald Rawlings
Saturday, August 18, 2018
Ronald Vande KieftRonald Vande Kieft
Friday, August 17, 2018
Caroline LemkeCaroline Lemke
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Muriel HullMuriel Hull
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Dave StevensDave Stevens
Sunday, August 5, 2018
Jeanne CroskeyJeanne Croskey
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Allan HudsonAllan Hudson
Monday, July 30, 2018
Fred VandenBoogertFred VandenBoogert
Thursday, July 26, 2018
John SlagterJohn Slagter
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Eylene SchmidtEylene Schmidt
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Kathy WheelerKathy Wheeler
Saturday, September 15, 2018
Nancy ChapelNancy Chapel
Friday, September 14, 2018
Wayne SkarvanWayne Skarvan
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Norman HookerNorman Hooker
Monday, September 10, 2018
Alan R. JarrettAlan R. Jarrett
Monday, September 10, 2018
Elmer SnoapElmer Snoap
Sunday, September 9, 2018
Theresa PosthumusTheresa Posthumus
Saturday, September 8, 2018
Josephine HauschildJosephine Hauschild
Saturday, September 8, 2018
Gregory GoberGregory Gober
Thursday, September 6, 2018
George PottGeorge Pott
Wednesday, September 5, 2018
Grace WengerGrace Wenger
Monday, September 3, 2018
James ShurmackJames Shurmack
Saturday, September 1, 2018
Barbara KosterBarbara Koster
Friday, August 31, 2018
Len ReilLen Reil
Thursday, August 30, 2018
Linda RomeroLinda Romero
Tuesday, August 28, 2018