Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

aflowerbowl

Service Information

Trudy Bess Durkee

Memorial Celebration: Saturday, June 9, from 1 - 4 pm at Unity Reformed Church, 4450 Poinsettia St. SE, Kentwood, MI

Memorials: In lieu of flowers, memorial contributions may be made to the funeral home to help with expenses, 1095 68th St. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Trudy Bess Durkee, age 74, of Grand Rapids, passed away on Wednesday, May 30, 2018.  She was born October 6, 1943. Her parents, brothers, sisters and husband, preceded her in death. Trudy was seventh in a family of ten children and lived in Grand Rapids most of her life.  She resided in Ascension Health Adult Foster Care in Kentwood for the last two years. She became the “Princess” in their housing family and established many, close and lasting friendships. Trudy enjoyed playing cards, games, crafts and cooking for family and friends. She enjoyed going "out to eat", gospel music, and long car rides especially in the fall. Trudy was a social person who made friends easily wherever she went.  Her contagious smile and sweet demeanor attracted folks to her. She worked at several positions, dry cleaning, sales, but mostly at Spectrum Health Blodgett in the sterilization processing department. She is survived by her brothers, Roger (Nancy), Brian (Lois), and Patrick; step sons, Paul (Margaret), Dale, Neil, and Brent; many close nieces and nephews; foster-brother, Pat, and his son, Joe. A Celebration of her life will be held at Unity Reformed Church, 4450 Poinsettia SE, on SaturdayJune 9, from 1 - 4 pm. In lieu of flowers, contributions may be given to Stroo Funeral Home to help with funeral expenses.

                                                         STROO FUNERAL HOME
                                                               1095 68TH ST. SE
                                                       GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508

Comments  

# JInni Turkelson 2018-06-07 15:16
I have known Trudy for many years and enjoyed working with her and her family. She always had a smile for people visiting her in spite of some difficult times. I will remember her fondly.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Gary CronkhiteGary Cronkhite
Monday, September 24, 2018
Robert LongRobert Long
Friday, September 21, 2018
Catherine VaasCatherine Vaas
Wednesday, September 19, 2018
Eylene SchmidtEylene Schmidt
Tuesday, September 18, 2018
Laura LakerLaura Laker
Monday, September 17, 2018
Kathy WheelerKathy Wheeler
Saturday, September 15, 2018
Nancy ChapelNancy Chapel
Friday, September 14, 2018
Wayne SkarvanWayne Skarvan
Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Norman HookerNorman Hooker
Monday, September 10, 2018
Alan R. JarrettAlan R. Jarrett
Monday, September 10, 2018
Elmer SnoapElmer Snoap
Sunday, September 9, 2018
Theresa PosthumusTheresa Posthumus
Saturday, September 8, 2018
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Leland ArmsLeland Arms
Monday, October 15, 2018
Elizabeth PartakElizabeth Partak
Saturday, October 13, 2018
Bud ApolBud Apol
Friday, October 12, 2018
Robert HerrmannRobert Herrmann
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Benita HernandezBenita Hernandez
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Gregg BlackGregg Black
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Doris DeYoung (Homrich)Doris DeYoung (Homrich)
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Inez DehnInez Dehn
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Sharon VoetbergSharon Voetberg
Monday, October 8, 2018
Raymond Vanden AkkerRaymond Vanden Akker
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Richard ThackerRichard Thacker
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Pat CarrollPat Carroll
Wednesday, October 3, 2018
Neoma TappNeoma Tapp
Monday, October 1, 2018
Marvin BrinksMarvin Brinks
Monday, October 1, 2018
Mark BoenderMark Boender
Friday, September 28, 2018
Barbara Vanden ToornBarbara Vanden Toorn
Tuesday, September 25, 2018