Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

DeBraberthelma224

Service Information

Thelma Pearl (DeVries) DeBraber 

Visitation: Saturday, March 17, 2018 from 10 - 11 am at Stroo Funeral Home prior to the service
Service: 11 am Saturday, March 17, at Stroo Funeral Home, 1095 68th St. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Cemetery:  Rosedale Memorial Park Cemetery
Memorials: Hudsonville Reformed Church, 3950 Highland, Dr. Hudsonville, MI 49426


 

                                  DE BRABER, THELMA P.
                                        ROCKFORD, MI

Thelma Pearl (DeVries) DeBraber, age 90, went to be with her Lord on Sunday, March 11, 2018.  She was preceded in death by her beloved husband of 51 years, Leonard, on May 16, 1998, and her son, Gordon Dale; her parents, Dave and Vera DeVries; her brothers, Loren and Marvin DeVries, and her sister Bette LaRiviere.  She is survived by her sister-in-law, Loretta DeVries; her children, Leonard David (Dianne) DeBraber and Judith Evelyn (Robert) See; her grandchildren, Andrew (Liz) DeBraber, Sandra (Mike) Huitink, Robb (Ashten) See and Tami (Jason) Brush; and her great grandchildren, Anna and Ezra DeBraber, Luke and Katie Huitink, Sckyler and Dustin See and Kaelin and Kenzie Brush. While Thelma spent most of her life in the Grand Rapids area, she worked for a number of different companies as a bookkeeper.  She was often actively engaged in a wide variety of activities from sewing, knitting and crafting to bowling, camping and playing a wide variety of parlor games – especially with cards, and periodically the phantom would call.  She was a loving mother and grandmother who enjoyed spending time with her family.  Her wit and caring nature will be greatly missed. The family would like to express their grateful appreciation to Hudsonville Reformed Church for the care and visits provided throughout the last three decades.  In addition, they would like to thank the staff and her friends at Bishop Hills Assisted Living Center in Rockford for the exceptional care she received during the last year of her life. The family will greet visitors on Saturday, March 17, from 10 - 11 am at Stroo Funeral Home, where the service will begin at 11 am. Rev. James Ikerd will officiate. Interment will be in Rosedale Memorial Park Cemetery.  Contributions in memory of Thelma may be made to Hudsonville Reformed Church. 

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST. SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Alice SterkAlice Sterk
Friday, October 19, 2018
Leland ArmsLeland Arms
Monday, October 15, 2018
Elizabeth PartakElizabeth Partak
Saturday, October 13, 2018
Bud ApolBud Apol
Friday, October 12, 2018
Robert HerrmannRobert Herrmann
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Benita HernandezBenita Hernandez
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Gregg BlackGregg Black
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Doris DeYoung (Homrich)Doris DeYoung (Homrich)
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Inez DehnInez Dehn
Thursday, October 11, 2018
Sharon VoetbergSharon Voetberg
Monday, October 8, 2018
Raymond Vanden AkkerRaymond Vanden Akker
Sunday, October 7, 2018
Richard ThackerRichard Thacker
Saturday, October 6, 2018
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Maria VallejoMaria Vallejo
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
William CushmanWilliam Cushman
Monday, November 12, 2018
Warren MeyerWarren Meyer
Monday, November 12, 2018
Eula DavisonEula Davison
Sunday, November 11, 2018
Joe MotleyJoe Motley
Saturday, November 10, 2018
Laurel De GrootLaurel De Groot
Friday, November 9, 2018
Pastor Herbert Little Jr.Pastor Herbert Little Jr.
Monday, November 5, 2018
Henrietta BolhuisHenrietta Bolhuis
Monday, November 5, 2018
Hilda RozemaHilda Rozema
Saturday, November 3, 2018
Valora BeachValora Beach
Thursday, November 1, 2018
Rita RackettRita Rackett
Wednesday, October 31, 2018
David PorterDavid Porter
Monday, October 29, 2018
Steve BrockSteve Brock
Sunday, October 28, 2018
Douglas Van MeursDouglas Van Meurs
Saturday, October 27, 2018
Bud ThomasBud Thomas
Saturday, October 27, 2018
Forrest FlanneryForrest Flannery
Wednesday, October 24, 2018