Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

youngjohnfolder22

Service Information

John Jacob Young 
Visitation:  Tuesday, January 16 from 5 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: 11 am Wednesday, January 17, at Stroo Funeral Home

Cemetery:  Lakeside Cemetery
Memorials: Grand Rapids Home for Veterans, 3000 Monroe NE, Grand Rapids,  MI 49505

 

John Jacob Young, age 75, of Caledonia, went to be with his Lord unexpectedly in January 2, 2018. John graduated from Caledonia High School and proudly served in the U.S. Army. He worked for General Motors (36th St. Plant) for over 37 years, was a leader in Tool and Die, and was on the Executive board with the UAW Local 730 for many years. John and Judy loved their many friends they made at Sherwood Forrest the past 17 years and his Wednesday's coffee with friends at McDonalds in Caledonia. He enjoyed music, gardening, and his John Deere tractors. He will be deeply missed by his wife of 57 years, Judy (nee Demarest); his children, Debra (Gordon) Lantinga, Kelly Papp, Tracy Young; six grandchildren, Lance Van Haitsma, Taryn Van Haitsma, Trent Van Haitsma, Cameron Papp, Lydia Papp, Drake Young; great grandson, Gunner Van Haitsma; sister-in-law, Teri Demarest, many nieces and nephews. He was preceded in death by his son, John Robert; son-in-law, Dr. John Papp Sr.; parents, John and Lena Young; brothers, Howard and Jay Wiersma; parents-in-law, Ted and Alice Demarest; and brother-in-law, Larry Demarest. The family will greet visitors on Tuesday, January 16, from 5 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home (1095 68th St. SE), where the service will be held on Wednesday, January 17, at 11 am. Interment in Lakeside Cemetery. Memorial contributions may be made to the Grand Rapids Home for Veterans. 
 
STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68TH ST. SE
GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508

Comments  

# David & Shirley Huff 2018-01-09 20:12
Our condolences to Judy and the Young family. L

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Carole AxdorffCarole Axdorff
Monday, June 25, 2018
James De BruynJames De Bruyn
Sunday, June 24, 2018
Louise LaBarreLouise LaBarre
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Douglas WidmayerDouglas Widmayer
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Rev. Sy VoortmanRev. Sy Voortman
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Jacob LuksoJacob Lukso
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Esther MiddlewoodEsther Middlewood
Sunday, June 17, 2018
Katherine SweezerKatherine Sweezer
Friday, June 15, 2018
Shawn WeeraShawn Weera
Friday, June 15, 2018
Bryan FlierBryan Flier
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Paul JonesPaul Jones
Sunday, June 10, 2018
Betty  VerBeekBetty VerBeek
Sunday, June 10, 2018
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Arthur SweerisArthur Sweeris
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Marcia BroersmaMarcia Broersma
Sunday, July 15, 2018
Paula KnappPaula Knapp
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Hilda Markham (Bedewitz)Hilda Markham (Bedewitz)
Monday, July 9, 2018
Kenneth WengerKenneth Wenger
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Ron HelmusRon Helmus
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Ralph MinkusRalph Minkus
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Craig CarlsonCraig Carlson
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Johnnie HemphillJohnnie Hemphill
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Judith Jonker-BredewegJudith Jonker-Bredeweg
Monday, July 2, 2018
Gerald BakerGerald Baker
Saturday, June 30, 2018
Richard HughesRichard Hughes
Friday, June 29, 2018
Joyce KoningJoyce Koning
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Kirk MannKirk Mann
Monday, June 25, 2018
Vernon WarnerVernon Warner
Monday, June 25, 2018
Mary VodryMary Vodry
Saturday, June 16, 2018
The Betst bookmaker bet365 Review
How to register at bookamkersHere