Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

veenstragil122

Service Information

Gilford Veenstra
Visitation:  Sunday from 2-4 and 6-8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: 1 pm, Monday, November 27 at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake SE

Cemetery:  Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens
Memorials: Mid America Reformed Seminary or Faith Hospice

 On Thanksgiving Day, November 23, 2017, Gilford J. "Gil" Veenstra, age 91, went to be with his Lord. In recent months, Gil pleaded with the Lord to take him to his heavenly home, and the Lord graciously answered his prayer. Gil proudly served in the U.S. Navy during WWII, and owned and operated the family business, Veenstra's Garage, for most of his life. In his later years, Gil faithfully cared for his wife, Jane, who preceded him in death, along with his daughter, Janice DeHaan. He will be lovingly remembered by his children, Karen (Karl) Kwekel, John (Jackie) Veenstra, Kathleen (Randy) Kapteyn, Mike (Vonnie) Veenstra, Mary (Gene) Benting, Kristine (Jeff) Myers, Chuck (Gayle) Veenstra; daughter-in-law, Charlene Veenstra; son-in-law, Doug (Vicki) DeHaan; 32 grandchildren; 52 great-grandchildren; brothers-in-law, Gord (Beth) Kuipers, Arnold Remtema; and many nieces and nephews. A service celebrating Gil's life and faith will be held at 1:00 p.m. Monday, November 27, at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake Ave. SE, with Rev. Larry Johnson officiating. Interment will be in Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens. The family will greet relatives and friends on Sunday, November 26, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home. Contributions in Gil's memory may be made to Mid America Reformed Seminary or Faith Hospice.

 

Stroo Funeral Home
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, Mi 49508
616 455-9280

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Current Services

Jean HulstJean Hulst
Monday, February 19, 2018
Kimberly CashKimberly Cash
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Bob HohensteinBob Hohenstein
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Barbara GritBarbara Grit
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Lucille LavenLucille Laven
Monday, February 12, 2018
Fred Scribner, Jr.Fred Scribner, Jr.
Sunday, February 11, 2018
Bud GibsonBud Gibson
Sunday, February 11, 2018
Andrew HerringAndrew Herring
Saturday, February 10, 2018
Chari CooperChari Cooper
Friday, February 9, 2018
Benjamin HankampBenjamin Hankamp
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Marian MacNicolMarian MacNicol
Monday, February 5, 2018
Helen GipeHelen Gipe
Monday, February 5, 2018
Joan SlopsemaJoan Slopsema
Sunday, February 4, 2018
Fred Heileman Jr.Fred Heileman Jr.
Friday, February 2, 2018
Bob MorrisBob Morris
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Betty FigueroaBetty Figueroa
Monday, January 29, 2018
The Betst bookmaker bet365 Review
How to register at bookamkersHere