Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

veenstragil122

Service Information

Gilford Veenstra
Visitation:  Sunday from 2-4 and 6-8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: 1 pm, Monday, November 27 at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake SE

Cemetery:  Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens
Memorials: Mid America Reformed Seminary or Faith Hospice

 On Thanksgiving Day, November 23, 2017, Gilford J. "Gil" Veenstra, age 91, went to be with his Lord. In recent months, Gil pleaded with the Lord to take him to his heavenly home, and the Lord graciously answered his prayer. Gil proudly served in the U.S. Navy during WWII, and owned and operated the family business, Veenstra's Garage, for most of his life. In his later years, Gil faithfully cared for his wife, Jane, who preceded him in death, along with his daughter, Janice DeHaan. He will be lovingly remembered by his children, Karen (Karl) Kwekel, John (Jackie) Veenstra, Kathleen (Randy) Kapteyn, Mike (Vonnie) Veenstra, Mary (Gene) Benting, Kristine (Jeff) Myers, Chuck (Gayle) Veenstra; daughter-in-law, Charlene Veenstra; son-in-law, Doug (Vicki) DeHaan; 32 grandchildren; 52 great-grandchildren; brothers-in-law, Gord (Beth) Kuipers, Arnold Remtema; and many nieces and nephews. A service celebrating Gil's life and faith will be held at 1:00 p.m. Monday, November 27, at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake Ave. SE, with Rev. Larry Johnson officiating. Interment will be in Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens. The family will greet relatives and friends on Sunday, November 26, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home. Contributions in Gil's memory may be made to Mid America Reformed Seminary or Faith Hospice.

 

Stroo Funeral Home
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, Mi 49508
616 455-9280

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Ofelia OsorioOfelia Osorio
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Martha Van SledrightMartha Van Sledright
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Dolores PalmerDolores Palmer
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Elisabeth ten HaafElisabeth ten Haaf
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
Rev. Clarence ReyneveldRev. Clarence Reyneveld
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Marissa (Freyling) StevensMarissa (Freyling) Stevens
Tuesday, April 3, 2018
Samuel SchwartzSamuel Schwartz
Monday, April 2, 2018
Rodney FleckRodney Fleck
Sunday, April 1, 2018
Forrest DeMaagdForrest DeMaagd
Friday, March 30, 2018
Russell BrownRussell Brown
Friday, March 30, 2018
Kenneth SmithKenneth Smith
Wednesday, March 28, 2018
Loren KriegerLoren Krieger
Tuesday, March 27, 2018
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Irene WorkmanIrene Workman
Sunday, April 22, 2018
Clifford RickaboughClifford Rickabough
Friday, April 20, 2018
Dorothy BachelderDorothy Bachelder
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Mildred SchickMildred Schick
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Shirley A. De VriesShirley A. De Vries
Wednesday, April 18, 2018
Geraldine KwekelGeraldine Kwekel
Tuesday, April 17, 2018
Vivian BignallVivian Bignall
Monday, April 16, 2018
Adalyn SmithAdalyn Smith
Monday, April 16, 2018
Anne JousmaAnne Jousma
Saturday, April 14, 2018
Shirley SmithShirley Smith
Thursday, April 12, 2018
Eloise FaberEloise Faber
Wednesday, April 11, 2018
Dorothy Dorothy "D.A." Malinoski
Monday, April 9, 2018
Shirley M. De VriesShirley M. De Vries
Friday, April 6, 2018
Henry HondorpHenry Hondorp
Friday, April 6, 2018
Karen RoosienKaren Roosien
Thursday, April 5, 2018
Darlene Vander MaasDarlene Vander Maas
Wednesday, April 4, 2018
The Betst bookmaker bet365 Review
How to register at bookamkersHere