Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
John K. Stroo
Manager
 

 

veenstragil122

Service Information

Gilford Veenstra
Visitation:  Sunday from 2-4 and 6-8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: 1 pm, Monday, November 27 at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake SE

Cemetery:  Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens
Memorials: Mid America Reformed Seminary or Faith Hospice

 On Thanksgiving Day, November 23, 2017, Gilford J. "Gil" Veenstra, age 91, went to be with his Lord. In recent months, Gil pleaded with the Lord to take him to his heavenly home, and the Lord graciously answered his prayer. Gil proudly served in the U.S. Navy during WWII, and owned and operated the family business, Veenstra's Garage, for most of his life. In his later years, Gil faithfully cared for his wife, Jane, who preceded him in death, along with his daughter, Janice DeHaan. He will be lovingly remembered by his children, Karen (Karl) Kwekel, John (Jackie) Veenstra, Kathleen (Randy) Kapteyn, Mike (Vonnie) Veenstra, Mary (Gene) Benting, Kristine (Jeff) Myers, Chuck (Gayle) Veenstra; daughter-in-law, Charlene Veenstra; son-in-law, Doug (Vicki) DeHaan; 32 grandchildren; 52 great-grandchildren; brothers-in-law, Gord (Beth) Kuipers, Arnold Remtema; and many nieces and nephews. A service celebrating Gil's life and faith will be held at 1:00 p.m. Monday, November 27, at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake Ave. SE, with Rev. Larry Johnson officiating. Interment will be in Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens. The family will greet relatives and friends on Sunday, November 26, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home. Contributions in Gil's memory may be made to Mid America Reformed Seminary or Faith Hospice.

 

Stroo Funeral Home
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, Mi 49508
616 455-9280

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Lila StinsonLila Stinson
Wednesday, December 27, 2017
Jeffrey HollimanJeffrey Holliman
Monday, December 25, 2017
Margaret WolfertMargaret Wolfert
Sunday, December 24, 2017
Pauline TerranovaPauline Terranova
Friday, December 22, 2017
John WiechenthalJohn Wiechenthal
Thursday, December 21, 2017
Janet MuellerJanet Mueller
Thursday, December 21, 2017
Georgie CowanGeorgie Cowan
Thursday, December 21, 2017
James DierichJames Dierich
Thursday, December 21, 2017
Gayle Stora-MabinGayle Stora-Mabin
Wednesday, December 20, 2017
Dale Kompik IIDale Kompik II
Tuesday, December 19, 2017
John (Jack) JousmaJohn (Jack) Jousma
Sunday, December 17, 2017
Willis Willis "Bill" Kooiker
Sunday, December 17, 2017
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Keith FitzgeraldKeith Fitzgerald
Monday, January 15, 2018
Herman WalcottHerman Walcott
Monday, January 15, 2018
Virginia PiccardVirginia Piccard
Saturday, January 13, 2018
Gerry JonesGerry Jones
Friday, January 12, 2018
Joan GrigasJoan Grigas
Thursday, January 11, 2018
Cora QuistCora Quist
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Vern BomgaarsVern Bomgaars
Wednesday, January 10, 2018
Doris SleemanDoris Sleeman
Tuesday, January 9, 2018
Hilda Markham (Bedewitz)Hilda Markham (Bedewitz)
Friday, January 5, 2018
John YoungJohn Young
Tuesday, January 2, 2018
Sean AllenSean Allen
Sunday, December 31, 2017
Dwaine WatkinsDwaine Watkins
Sunday, December 31, 2017
Betty HeathBetty Heath
Sunday, December 31, 2017
Grace (Pluger) WarsenGrace (Pluger) Warsen
Thursday, December 28, 2017
Les KooiengaLes Kooienga
Thursday, December 28, 2017
Fred PlichtaFred Plichta
Thursday, December 28, 2017
The Betst bookmaker bet365 Review
How to register at bookamkersHere