Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

veenstragil122

Service Information

Gilford Veenstra
Visitation:  Sunday from 2-4 and 6-8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: 1 pm, Monday, November 27 at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake SE

Cemetery:  Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens
Memorials: Mid America Reformed Seminary or Faith Hospice

 On Thanksgiving Day, November 23, 2017, Gilford J. "Gil" Veenstra, age 91, went to be with his Lord. In recent months, Gil pleaded with the Lord to take him to his heavenly home, and the Lord graciously answered his prayer. Gil proudly served in the U.S. Navy during WWII, and owned and operated the family business, Veenstra's Garage, for most of his life. In his later years, Gil faithfully cared for his wife, Jane, who preceded him in death, along with his daughter, Janice DeHaan. He will be lovingly remembered by his children, Karen (Karl) Kwekel, John (Jackie) Veenstra, Kathleen (Randy) Kapteyn, Mike (Vonnie) Veenstra, Mary (Gene) Benting, Kristine (Jeff) Myers, Chuck (Gayle) Veenstra; daughter-in-law, Charlene Veenstra; son-in-law, Doug (Vicki) DeHaan; 32 grandchildren; 52 great-grandchildren; brothers-in-law, Gord (Beth) Kuipers, Arnold Remtema; and many nieces and nephews. A service celebrating Gil's life and faith will be held at 1:00 p.m. Monday, November 27, at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake Ave. SE, with Rev. Larry Johnson officiating. Interment will be in Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens. The family will greet relatives and friends on Sunday, November 26, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home. Contributions in Gil's memory may be made to Mid America Reformed Seminary or Faith Hospice.

 

Stroo Funeral Home
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, Mi 49508
616 455-9280

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Carole AxdorffCarole Axdorff
Monday, June 25, 2018
James De BruynJames De Bruyn
Sunday, June 24, 2018
Louise LaBarreLouise LaBarre
Thursday, June 21, 2018
Douglas WidmayerDouglas Widmayer
Wednesday, June 20, 2018
Rev. Sy VoortmanRev. Sy Voortman
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Jacob LuksoJacob Lukso
Tuesday, June 19, 2018
Esther MiddlewoodEsther Middlewood
Sunday, June 17, 2018
Katherine SweezerKatherine Sweezer
Friday, June 15, 2018
Shawn WeeraShawn Weera
Friday, June 15, 2018
Bryan FlierBryan Flier
Thursday, June 14, 2018
Paul JonesPaul Jones
Sunday, June 10, 2018
Betty  VerBeekBetty VerBeek
Sunday, June 10, 2018
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Arthur SweerisArthur Sweeris
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Marcia BroersmaMarcia Broersma
Sunday, July 15, 2018
Paula KnappPaula Knapp
Tuesday, July 10, 2018
Hilda Markham (Bedewitz)Hilda Markham (Bedewitz)
Monday, July 9, 2018
Kenneth WengerKenneth Wenger
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Ron HelmusRon Helmus
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Ralph MinkusRalph Minkus
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Craig CarlsonCraig Carlson
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Johnnie HemphillJohnnie Hemphill
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Judith Jonker-BredewegJudith Jonker-Bredeweg
Monday, July 2, 2018
Gerald BakerGerald Baker
Saturday, June 30, 2018
Richard HughesRichard Hughes
Friday, June 29, 2018
Joyce KoningJoyce Koning
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Kirk MannKirk Mann
Monday, June 25, 2018
Vernon WarnerVernon Warner
Monday, June 25, 2018
Mary VodryMary Vodry
Saturday, June 16, 2018
The Betst bookmaker bet365 Review
How to register at bookamkersHere