Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
John K. Stroo
Manager
 

 

kloostermanrena1055

Service Information

Rena (De Jong) Kloosterman 
Visitation: Friday, October 20, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home
Service: 11 am Saturday, October 21, at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake SE

Cemetery:  Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens
Memorials: Zion Christian School, 7555 Byron Center Ave SW, Byron Center, MI 49315 or Holland Home, 2100 Raybrook SE, Ste, 300, Grand Rapids, MI 49546

 

Rena (De Jong) Kloosterman, age 91, of Grand Rapids, formerly of Dutton, went to be with her Lord and Savior on Sunday, October 15, 2017. Rena loved the Lord and lovingly cared for her husband and family, and served numerous others as a nurse and friend. She was preceded in death by her husband of 38 years, Hans; and her brothers, Peter, Ray, Julius, and Marion De Jong. Surviving are her children, John (Debby) Kloosterman, Nelson (Susan) Kloosterman, Herman (Pam) Kloosterman, Betty Kloosterman, Grace Driesenga, René (David) Smith, Heidi (Craig) Stein, Peter (Michelle) Kloosterman; 32 grandchildren; 52 great-grandchildren; and her siblings and their spouses. The family will greet visitors on Friday, October 20, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home. A private family committal will be held at Chapel Hill Memorial Gardens. A memorial service celebrating Rena's life will be held 11 am Saturday, October 21, at Dutton United Reformed Church, 6950 Hanna Lake SE, with Rev. Larry Johnson officiating. Memorial contributions may be designated for Zion Christian School or Holland Home.

STROO FUNERAL HOME
1095 68th Street, SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508

Comments  

# Grace Miedema 2017-10-19 00:01
She was a great 'Mom' to Dirk and me too when we were at Calvin. She'd always send home made cookies with me to the dorms, and later when we were married she would let me know where there were deals on fruits and vegetables for canning and for jam and so on. I remember her sitting with a quilting square in her lap and many squares in the bag beside her chair. She encouraged me when I took an upholstering course, letting me do small chair she treasured. i admired her patience when she was together with all the Friesian sisters-in-law. They would forever switch from English to Friesian mis-sentence, three sentences into an animated conversation. She would quietly watch and try to decipher the meanings of the gestures! We loved her.
# Frank & Henie Brooke 2017-10-18 22:41
Our sympathy to you on your loss. May the Lord give you Grace, Peace, and Comfort during this time.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Anne BrowerAnne Brower
Thursday, October 19, 2017
Nellie ClarkNellie Clark
Tuesday, October 17, 2017
Rena KloostermanRena Kloosterman
Sunday, October 15, 2017
Richard B. GroendykRichard B. Groendyk
Saturday, October 14, 2017
Carolyn MeyeringCarolyn Meyering
Wednesday, October 11, 2017
Valerie BurkhartValerie Burkhart
Wednesday, October 11, 2017
May WebsterMay Webster
Saturday, October 7, 2017
Mary Ellen JohnsonMary Ellen Johnson
Thursday, October 5, 2017
Treasure DeWittTreasure DeWitt
Wednesday, October 4, 2017
Delores LarsonDelores Larson
Monday, October 2, 2017
William Reits, Jr.William Reits, Jr.
Sunday, October 1, 2017
Darrell CromerDarrell Cromer
Saturday, September 30, 2017
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Marilyn FaberMarilyn Faber
Friday, November 17, 2017
Robert MeulendykRobert Meulendyk
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Peter NobelPeter Nobel
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Adelbert WarnerAdelbert Warner
Monday, November 13, 2017
Elana TranElana Tran
Monday, November 13, 2017
Nina FlintNina Flint
Friday, November 10, 2017
Wayne Fuller, Jr.Wayne Fuller, Jr.
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Nena SamuelNena Samuel
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Donna HuizengaDonna Huizenga
Wednesday, November 8, 2017
Don R. MitchellDon R. Mitchell
Thursday, November 2, 2017
Lucio FariasLucio Farias
Friday, October 27, 2017
Jeffery Jeffery "Scooter" Fleeman
Friday, October 27, 2017
Josie GratzJosie Gratz
Thursday, October 26, 2017
Adam ForbesAdam Forbes
Thursday, October 26, 2017
Alice SchepersAlice Schepers
Sunday, October 22, 2017
Dar VanderArkDar VanderArk
Saturday, October 21, 2017
The Betst bookmaker bet365 Review
How to register at bookamkersHere