Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

frylingmel 233

Service Information

Mel Fryling
Visitation: Sunday, September 24, from 6:30 to 8:30 pm and Monday, September 25, from 10 - 11 am all at Covenant Christian Reformed Church, 7171 Willard Ave. SE
Service: 11 am Monday, September 25, at Covenant CRC
Cemetery: Pine Hill 
Memorials: World Renew for Huricane Relief or to a charity of your choice

 On Thursday, September 21, 2017, Mel Fryling, age 83, of Cutlerville, a child of God, entered his heavenly home and is now safe in the arms of Jesus. Mel loved his God and his family. He was the founder and operator of Fryling Electric for many years. He enjoyed gardening, walking and bicycling, fishing, and splitting wood. Lovingly known as "Pookie" to his family, Mel will be deeply missed by his children, Sandy VanAndel, Dan Fryling, Melodee (John) Harbison; grandchildren, Mark, Eric, Beth VanAndel, Julie (Leo) Wiseman, Bill (Lindsey) Fryling; great grandchildren, Isaac, Lyla, Cambree, Hannah, and one more yet to be born; sisters, Lois (Rich) Hoonhorst, Marlene Hawkins; sisters-in-law and brothers-in-law, Joanne (Mel) Gezon, Gladys (Sid) Draayer, Laura VanEerden; many nieces and nephews. He was preceded in death by his wife of over 60 years, Ruth; and parents, George and Johanna Fryling. The family will greet visitors at Covenant Christian Reformed Church, 7171 Willard Ave. SE, on Sunday, September 24, from 6:30 - 8:30 pm, and Monday, September 25, from 10 - 11 am where the service will begin at 11 am. Rev. Cal VanderMeyden will be officiating. Interment in Pine Hill Cemetery. Memorial contributions may be made to World Renew for Hurricane Relief or to a charity of your choice.

 

                                              Stroo Funeral Home

Comments  

# Maxine Walker Myers 2017-09-25 16:32
Helen (Walker) Gipe and I would like to offer our sympathy and prayers for all of Melvin's family. We recall many happy memories with our Fryling friends and neighbors. Keep on loving God and each other.
--Maxine (Walker) Myers

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Hilda Markham (Bedewitz)Hilda Markham (Bedewitz)
Monday, July 9, 2018
Kenneth WengerKenneth Wenger
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Ron HelmusRon Helmus
Thursday, July 5, 2018
Ralph MinkusRalph Minkus
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Craig CarlsonCraig Carlson
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Johnnie HemphillJohnnie Hemphill
Wednesday, July 4, 2018
Judith Jonker-BredewegJudith Jonker-Bredeweg
Monday, July 2, 2018
Gerald BakerGerald Baker
Saturday, June 30, 2018
Richard HughesRichard Hughes
Friday, June 29, 2018
Joyce KoningJoyce Koning
Wednesday, June 27, 2018
Kirk MannKirk Mann
Monday, June 25, 2018
Vernon WarnerVernon Warner
Monday, June 25, 2018
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Donald RawlingsDonald Rawlings
Saturday, August 18, 2018
Ronald Vande KieftRonald Vande Kieft
Friday, August 17, 2018
Caroline LemkeCaroline Lemke
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Muriel HullMuriel Hull
Sunday, August 12, 2018
Dave StevensDave Stevens
Sunday, August 5, 2018
Jeanne CroskeyJeanne Croskey
Thursday, August 2, 2018
Allan HudsonAllan Hudson
Monday, July 30, 2018
Fred VandenBoogertFred VandenBoogert
Thursday, July 26, 2018
John SlagterJohn Slagter
Thursday, July 26, 2018
Percy Vander SlikPercy Vander Slik
Wednesday, July 25, 2018
William KlumpWilliam Klump
Sunday, July 22, 2018
Patsy YostPatsy Yost
Friday, July 20, 2018
Arthur SweerisArthur Sweeris
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Thomas KalsbeekThomas Kalsbeek
Tuesday, July 17, 2018
Scott HiltonScott Hilton
Monday, July 16, 2018
Marcia BroersmaMarcia Broersma
Sunday, July 15, 2018
The Betst bookmaker bet365 Review
How to register at bookamkersHere