Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
John K. Stroo
Manager
 

 

VanPutten crop

Service Information

Peter Van Putten 
Visitation: Sunday, July 23, from 5 - 8 pm, Monday, July 24, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home, and Tuesday, prior to the service from 10 - 10:45 am at the church
Service: 11 am Tuesday, July 25 at First Reformed Church of Byron Center, 8425 Byron Center Ave. SW

Cemetery:  Winchester
Memorials: Forgotten Man Ministries, 3940 Fruit Ridge Ave. NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49544 http://www.forgottenman.org/donate

 

Peter VanPutten, age 95, of Byron Center, was welcomed home into the loving arms of his Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, on Friday, July 21, 2017, where he will be reunited with his family.  Peter was a former Byron Township Supervisor. He was an electrical and plumbing contractor for many years, and a member of the National Association of Electrical Inspectors for many communities around West MI.  He was highly involved in instituting electrical training at the Kent Skills Center. Flowers and gardening were also a love of his. His wife, Violet; three brothers and four sisters; and his foster son, Dougie Sweet, preceded him in death. Peter will be lovingly remembered by his children, Bev Houseman, Sheryl (Marv) Zalud, Kathy (Bob) Dorman, Carol (Chuck) Jones; 12 grandchildren; 34 great grandchildren; four great-great grandchildren; sister-in-law, Merle (Ken) Berkompas; many nieces and nephews. The family will greet visitors on Sunday from 5 - 8 pm and Monday from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home. The funeral service will be held 11 am Tuesday, July 25, at First Reformed Church of Byron Center, 8425 Byron Center Avenue SW, with Revs. Thomas VandenHeuvel, Peter VanElderen, Bill Fernhout, and Andrew Jackson officiating. There will be a time of visitation prior to the service from 10 - 10:45 am at the church. Entombment will be in Winchester Cemetery. Memorial contributions may be made to the Forgotten Man Ministries. 
 
  STROO FUNERAL HOME
  1095 68TH ST. SE

 

Comments  

# Brenda Bera-Alters 2017-07-24 13:01
Carol (& Chuck) I'm SO sorry to hear of the loss of your Dad! Nothing can take the place of such an important figure in your life. Every time I get on my garden tractor I remember my Dad . . . there are such good memories that will help you in this time of loss. I pray for your peace in remembering and His grace to see you through. Take care!

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Current Services

James Van DykeJames Van Dyke
Saturday, December 9, 2017
Norman BredewegNorman Bredeweg
Thursday, December 7, 2017
Howard ZoetHoward Zoet
Sunday, December 3, 2017
John ZuiderveenJohn Zuiderveen
Friday, December 1, 2017
Gil VeenstraGil Veenstra
Thursday, November 23, 2017
James LeightonJames Leighton
Monday, November 20, 2017
Marilyn FaberMarilyn Faber
Friday, November 17, 2017
Robert MeulendykRobert Meulendyk
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Peter NobelPeter Nobel
Tuesday, November 14, 2017
Adelbert WarnerAdelbert Warner
Monday, November 13, 2017
Elana TranElana Tran
Monday, November 13, 2017
Nina FlintNina Flint
Friday, November 10, 2017
Wayne Fuller, Jr.Wayne Fuller, Jr.
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Nena SamuelNena Samuel
Thursday, November 9, 2017
Donna HuizengaDonna Huizenga
Wednesday, November 8, 2017
Don R. MitchellDon R. Mitchell
Thursday, November 2, 2017
The Betst bookmaker bet365 Review
How to register at bookamkersHere