Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
John K. Stroo
Manager
 

 

VanDykeGib22

Service Information

Gilbert B. "Gib" VanDyke
Visitation: Thursday, June 1, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home 
Service: 11 am Friday, June 2, at Covenant Christian Reformed Church, 7171 Willard Ave. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49548
Cemetery: Kent Memorial Gardens
Memorials: Crossroad Bible Institute

 

Gilbert B. "Gib" VanDyke, age 94, of Cutlerville, went home to glory on Sunday, May 28, 2017. Gib honorably served his country in the U.S. Navy during World War II. After owning Jack and Gib's Market in Cutlerville for a time, he went on to work as a wholesale grocery manager for United Wholesale Grocery for many years. His dear wife of 52 years, Helen (Winters), preceded him in death. He will be lovingly remembered by his children, Ken (Chi Chi) VanDyke, Jerry (Deb) VanDyke, and Erin Hart; seven grandchildren; ten great grandchildren; his brothers and sister, Martin (Ruth) VanDyke, John (Hilda) VanDyke, Henry VanDyke, Henrietta (Art) Sjoerdsma; many nieces and nephews. A service celebrating the life and faith of Gib VanDyke will be held at 11 AM Friday, June 2, at Covenant Christian Reformed Church (7171 Willard Ave. SE), where Gib was a charter member, with Rev. Curt Walters and Rev. Cal VanderMeyden officiating. Private interment in Kent Memorial Gardens will precede the service. Memorial contributions may be made to Crossroad Bible Institute. The family will greet relatives and friends at Stroo Funeral Home on Thursday from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 PM.
 
                           STROO FUNERAL HOME
                              1095 68TH ST. SE
                         GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508
                        www.stroofuneralhome.com

 

Comments  

# Alaine PoelstraSyrba 2017-05-30 17:23
Gib was such a special friend to me at Covenant. I will never forgetnhim. One of the most special moments of my church life involved Gib and I think of him almost daily while listening to my music at work.
"Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace."
My prayers are with his family. He is such a special man and will be missed even if he was ready.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Current Services

Bobbie CheekBobbie Cheek
Sunday, July 16, 2017
Irene BouwmaIrene Bouwma
Saturday, July 15, 2017
Herman LutkeHerman Lutke
Thursday, July 13, 2017
Grace WalmaGrace Walma
Friday, July 7, 2017
Conrad Jack AaldersConrad Jack Aalders
Thursday, July 6, 2017
Mildred De JongMildred De Jong
Monday, July 3, 2017
Betty BottingBetty Botting
Monday, July 3, 2017
Gertrude Gertrude "Trudy" Baker
Sunday, July 2, 2017
Daniel BairdDaniel Baird
Friday, June 30, 2017
Nora Mae KuipersNora Mae Kuipers
Thursday, June 29, 2017
Dawn VanderWeideDawn VanderWeide
Monday, June 26, 2017
Jesse BusbyJesse Busby
Saturday, June 24, 2017
Dorothy KassDorothy Kass
Wednesday, June 21, 2017
Grace ClausenGrace Clausen
Tuesday, June 20, 2017
Jill Pacic (Shaver)Jill Pacic (Shaver)
Tuesday, June 20, 2017
Sylvia MeulenbergSylvia Meulenberg
Monday, June 19, 2017
The Betst bookmaker bet365 Review
How to register at bookamkersHere