Stroo Funeral Home, Inc. 
1095 68th St. SE
Grand Rapids, MI 49508
Phone:  (616) 455-9280 
Fax: (616) 455-2035
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Michael A. Vos - Owner / Manager
 
 Robert K. Stroo - Owner / President 

 

VanDykeGib22

Service Information

Gilbert B. "Gib" VanDyke
Visitation: Thursday, June 1, from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 pm at Stroo Funeral Home 
Service: 11 am Friday, June 2, at Covenant Christian Reformed Church, 7171 Willard Ave. SE, Grand Rapids, MI 49548
Cemetery: Kent Memorial Gardens
Memorials: Crossroad Bible Institute

 

Gilbert B. "Gib" VanDyke, age 94, of Cutlerville, went home to glory on Sunday, May 28, 2017. Gib honorably served his country in the U.S. Navy during World War II. After owning Jack and Gib's Market in Cutlerville for a time, he went on to work as a wholesale grocery manager for United Wholesale Grocery for many years. His dear wife of 52 years, Helen (Winters), preceded him in death. He will be lovingly remembered by his children, Ken (Chi Chi) VanDyke, Jerry (Deb) VanDyke, and Erin Hart; seven grandchildren; ten great grandchildren; his brothers and sister, Martin (Ruth) VanDyke, John (Hilda) VanDyke, Henry VanDyke, Henrietta (Art) Sjoerdsma; many nieces and nephews. A service celebrating the life and faith of Gib VanDyke will be held at 11 AM Friday, June 2, at Covenant Christian Reformed Church (7171 Willard Ave. SE), where Gib was a charter member, with Rev. Curt Walters and Rev. Cal VanderMeyden officiating. Private interment in Kent Memorial Gardens will precede the service. Memorial contributions may be made to Crossroad Bible Institute. The family will greet relatives and friends at Stroo Funeral Home on Thursday from 2 - 4 and 6 - 8 PM.
 
                           STROO FUNERAL HOME
                              1095 68TH ST. SE
                         GRAND RAPIDS, MI 49508
                        www.stroofuneralhome.com

 

Comments  

# Alaine PoelstraSyrba 2017-05-30 17:23
Gib was such a special friend to me at Covenant. I will never forgetnhim. One of the most special moments of my church life involved Gib and I think of him almost daily while listening to my music at work.
"Turn your eyes upon Jesus,
Look full in His wonderful face,
And the things of earth will grow strangely dim,
In the light of His glory and grace."
My prayers are with his family. He is such a special man and will be missed even if he was ready.

Add comment

Security code
Refresh

Robert SuttleRobert Suttle
Monday, January 29, 2018
Roger KrugerRoger Kruger
Monday, January 29, 2018
Russ BullisRuss Bullis
Sunday, January 28, 2018
Donald HudsonDonald Hudson
Sunday, January 28, 2018
David Van DorpDavid Van Dorp
Friday, January 26, 2018
Ethel CuniganEthel Cunigan
Wednesday, January 24, 2018
Barbara PhillipsBarbara Phillips
Tuesday, January 23, 2018
Victoria MartinezVictoria Martinez
Monday, January 22, 2018
Ruth KaecheleRuth Kaechele
Saturday, January 20, 2018
Tad MuellerTad Mueller
Saturday, January 20, 2018
Larry FergusonLarry Ferguson
Thursday, January 18, 2018
Jean KrugerJean Kruger
Thursday, January 18, 2018
Recent Memorials

Current Services

Jean HulstJean Hulst
Monday, February 19, 2018
Kimberly CashKimberly Cash
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Bob HohensteinBob Hohenstein
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Barbara GritBarbara Grit
Wednesday, February 14, 2018
Lucille LavenLucille Laven
Monday, February 12, 2018
Fred Scribner, Jr.Fred Scribner, Jr.
Sunday, February 11, 2018
Bud GibsonBud Gibson
Sunday, February 11, 2018
Andrew HerringAndrew Herring
Saturday, February 10, 2018
Chari CooperChari Cooper
Friday, February 9, 2018
Benjamin HankampBenjamin Hankamp
Wednesday, February 7, 2018
Marian MacNicolMarian MacNicol
Monday, February 5, 2018
Helen GipeHelen Gipe
Monday, February 5, 2018
Joan SlopsemaJoan Slopsema
Sunday, February 4, 2018
Fred Heileman Jr.Fred Heileman Jr.
Friday, February 2, 2018
Bob MorrisBob Morris
Tuesday, January 30, 2018
Betty FigueroaBetty Figueroa
Monday, January 29, 2018
The Betst bookmaker bet365 Review
How to register at bookamkersHere